Page 1 of 1

QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 2:57 am
by taniwha
Hot on the heels of Beta 1, here comes Beta 2 :D

Details
Download
Documentation

The Win64 portability issue mentioned by szo has not yet been fixed.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:32 am
by szo
Regarding the OpenBSD fix by sign extending the result returned by Msg_ReadShort(),
is it not safer to always do that in Msg_ReadSort() itself like the original ID code does?
i.e. c = (short)(msg->message->data[msg->.... ??

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:07 am
by qbism
I just tried out nq_sdl and nq_sdl32 in Windows 7. Windowed mode works, except it doesn't capture the mouse (the cursor can move off-screen even when focused) -width and -height can set windowed size, but I couldn't get fullscreen at any resolution. "vid_updatefullscreen: error setting fullscreen"

Color rendition was very good, bright (for Quake) without washing-out. Did not need to set gamma. FPS seemed high. Using i3 processor.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:13 am
by taniwha
szo: that sign extension isn't the OpenBSD fix, pthread.m4 and Makefile.am stuff is. As for changing from original code: I did not like -1 being both data and error code. (of course, I then go and through that away, but that's a separate bug).

qbism: thanks for the reports. I don't know if I will be able to fix them as I don't grok windows, but I'll see what I can do. Nice that out-of-the-box, QF is otherwise pleasing for you.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:17 pm
by mh
I've tested both the SGL and WGL versions of this on an older Dell PC with Windows XP and Intel 945 graphics.

Neither draw the world, the menus or the console (aside from the console background).

The WGL version has a command-prompt window behind it which all console input and output is redirected to.

Gonna try Windows 7/NVIDIA later on.

Update.

OK, both work on NVIDIA/Win 7, at least so far as the renderer is concerned.

Also got the mouse capture problem in the SGL version which makes it unplayable in windowed mode. Mouse didn't work at all in WGL, and WGL also had the command prompt window appear behind the main game window here.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:02 am
by taniwha
mh wrote:I've tested both the SGL and WGL versions of this on an older Dell PC with Windows XP and Intel 945 graphics.

Neither draw the world, the menus or the console (aside from the console background).
Hmm, that might be a vertex array bug in the driver. Try setting gl_vaelements_max to -1 (it's read-only, so use +set gl_vaelements_max -1) on the command line.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:31 pm
by mh
taniwha wrote:
mh wrote:I've tested both the SGL and WGL versions of this on an older Dell PC with Windows XP and Intel 945 graphics.

Neither draw the world, the menus or the console (aside from the console background).
Hmm, that might be a vertex array bug in the driver. Try setting gl_vaelements_max to -1 (it's read-only, so use +set gl_vaelements_max -1) on the command line.
Didn't fix it, but I did notice something else interesting: setting gl_conspin 1 will cause everything to appear again, but only when the console is down. Seems like some kind of transform problem with the world model then (brush models, MDLs and everything else in the 3D view draw OK).

Edit: hmmmm...

Code: Select all

	if (gl_major >= 1 && gl_minor >= 3)
What happens if major is 2 and minor is 0? Shouldn't that be something like:

Code: Select all

if (gl_major > 1 || (gl_major == 1 && gl_minor >= 3))
:?:

QFGL_ParseExtensionList looks suspect to me. See: http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man/xhtm ... String.xml - "Returns a space-separated list of supported extensions to GL" - as it's just a simple space-delimited string, just strstr (gl_extensions, "GL_EXT_my_wonderful_extension ") is all you need - just ensure there's a space at the end of the extension you're checking for and it works.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:41 pm
by qbism
Pardon a Linux noob question, but it seems I was able to compile in Linux from xterm with "make INSTALL", but in what directory do the executable files get written?

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:33 pm
by Spirit
/usr/local/bin/ for me, but it probably depends on your distribution's setup. If you know an executable's name you can use which, eg "which nq-sdl" to see its path.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:41 am
by taniwha
mh wrote:Didn't fix it, but I did notice something else interesting: setting gl_conspin 1 will cause everything to appear again, but only when the console is down. Seems like some kind of transform problem with the world model then (brush models, MDLs and everything else in the 3D view draw OK).
Interesting. However, whatever made you try gl_conspin?!? Or was that just a fluke when you were playing around with cvars?
Edit: hmmmm...

Code: Select all

	if (gl_major >= 1 && gl_minor >= 3)
What happens if major is 2 and minor is 0? Shouldn't that be something like:

Code: Select all

if (gl_major > 1 || (gl_major == 1 && gl_minor >= 3))
:?:
Yup, that's a bug. Thank you. FIxed locally, will push to git soon, and it will be in the next release.
QFGL_ParseExtensionList looks suspect to me. See: http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man/xhtm ... String.xml - "Returns a space-separated list of supported extensions to GL" - as it's just a simple space-delimited string, just strstr (gl_extensions, "GL_EXT_my_wonderful_extension ") is all you need - just ensure there's a space at the end of the extension you're checking for and it works.
I had a close look at QFGL_ParseExtensionList, but it does seem to correct. It is being very paranoid about avoiding false positives caused by substring matches (not that they're likely).

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:14 am
by taniwha
mh wrote:
taniwha wrote: Hmm, that might be a vertex array bug in the driver. Try setting gl_vaelements_max to -1 (it's read-only, so use +set gl_vaelements_max -1) on the command line.
Didn't fix it
I've just found out that it would not have fixed it even if the cvar setting had taken (the command line parser does not put args starting with - into the command buffer: you need to quote such args: +set gl_vaelements_max "-1" (and possibly quote the quotes: see here)).

Also, it's a good thing the command didn't work: QF would have segged (I'm working on that now).

This means also that it is completely irrelevant. The only places vertex arrays are used are text (console, chat messages, etc), particles and sprites.

Re: QuakeForge 0.5.99 Beta 2 Released

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:53 am
by taniwha
mh wrote: OK, both work on NVIDIA/Win 7, at least so far as the renderer is concerned.

Also got the mouse capture problem in the SGL version which makes it unplayable in windowed mode. Mouse didn't work at all in WGL, and WGL also had the command prompt window appear behind the main game window here.
Sorry, just noticed this.

For the mouse: try in_grab 1 in the console.