Page 1 of 1

help change starting weapons

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:04 pm
by Hazematman
Hey just a quick question, which quake C file contains the code that tells you which weapons to start with, or is that coded into the engine?

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:10 pm
by ceriux

Code: Select all

oid() SetChangeParms =
{
	if (self.health <= 0)
	{
		SetNewParms ();
		return;
	}

// remove items
	self.items = self.items - (self.items & 
	(IT_KEY1 | IT_KEY2 | IT_INVISIBILITY | IT_INVULNERABILITY | IT_SUIT | IT_QUAD) );
	
// cap super health
	if (self.health > 100)
		self.health = 100;
	if (self.health < 50)
		self.health = 50;
	parm1 = self.items;
	parm2 = self.health;
	parm3 = self.armorvalue;
	if (self.ammo_shells < 25)
		parm4 = 25;
	else
		parm4 = self.ammo_shells;
	parm5 = self.ammo_nails;
	parm6 = self.ammo_rockets;
	parm7 = self.ammo_cells;
	parm8 = self.weapon;
	parm9 = self.armortype * 100;
};

void() SetNewParms =
{
	parm1 = IT_SHOTGUN | IT_AXE;
	parm2 = 100;
	parm3 = 0;
	parm4 = 25;
	parm5 = 0;
	parm6 = 0;
	parm7 = 0;
	parm8 = 1;
	parm9 = 0;
};

void() DecodeLevelParms =
{
	if (serverflags)
	{
		if (world.model == "maps/start.bsp")
			SetNewParms ();		// take away all stuff on starting new episode
	}
	
	self.items = parm1;
	self.health = parm2;
	self.armorvalue = parm3;
	self.ammo_shells = parm4;
	self.ammo_nails = parm5;
	self.ammo_rockets = parm6;
	self.ammo_cells = parm7;
	self.weapon = parm8;
	self.armortype = parm9 * 0.01;
};

Re: help change starting weapons

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:18 pm
by leileilol
Hazematman wrote:which quake C file
client.qc

answered!

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:19 pm
by Hazematman
Ok much appreciated for telling me the file. thanks!

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:58 pm
by Mexicouger
You need to modify this stuff in Client.qc

Code: Select all

void() SetNewParms =
{
	parm1 = IT_SHOTGUN;    // Modify this little piece to             whatever weapon you want
	parm2 = 99;
	parm3 = 0;
	parm4 = 100;
	parm5 = 1;
	parm6 = 0;
	parm7 = 0;
	parm8 = 1;  //This is the actual weapon you start with. 1= IT_SHOTGUN
	parm9 = 0;
	parm10 = 0;
};
To add weapons to start with, in parm1, Do this:

Code: Select all

parm1 = IT_SHOTGUN | IT_AXE | IT_ROCKET_LAUNCHER;
| means or. So you can cycle between any of the weapons you add. Still learning myself :?

Re: help change starting weapons

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:53 am
by Baker
Hazematman wrote:Hey just a quick question, which quake C file contains the code that tells you which weapons to start with, or is that coded into the engine?
Hazematman ...

Could you post these questions in the QuakeC section in the future?

Because you aren't posting a tutorial and they really don't go here.

I know you are new, it's no big deal. But still this section is for posting tutorials.

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:55 am
by Hazematman
Ok, I did not know that il post my next question in that section. thanks for telling me.