Compiling Glquake on windows7

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.
Charlieguitar

Compiling Glquake on windows7

Post by Charlieguitar »

Hi there, i've recently gotten into quake engine editing and im wondering if anyone has a guide on how to compile glquake on windows7 so that it launches without error or having to run in compatability modes. I've had no luck so far and im somewhat new to visual studio 2008 and how to add the new libraries and headers that i assume is needed to make it run on win7. I've looked at Fritzquake and while that compiles and works fine, i'd rather start off with the standard 1.6 sourcecode than use someone elses modified version (for now)
Any help would be greatly aprecciated, thank you :]
mh

Post by mh »

This should be straightforward; I've done it loads of times. There are quite a few steps involved, particularly with the assembly language stuff (if you want to keep it) though, so could you indicate where you're running into trouble and let's see if we can get you moving on from there. :D
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
Charlieguitar

Post by Charlieguitar »

Well i guess my main problem is that im not familiar with MSVC2008 but i figured its the best way to go. I can get it up and running and compile the source fine. Im just not sure exactly what headers and libraries i need to update to make glquake run on windows7. Or indeed where to find them, any pointer in that direction would definetly be a great help! I feel incredibly dumb right now :p
metlslime

Post by metlslime »

Well, it's not completely straightforward. You need to build gas2masm first, then maybe copy it to a different folder, then download and install ml.exe, then build the main project (which uses gas2masm to convert .s files and then runs ml.exe to actually build them)