trying to credit ppl but cant remember

Discuss programming in the QuakeC language.
ajay
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:44 am
Location: Swindon, UK

trying to credit ppl but cant remember

Post by ajay »

Although I'm a few months of finishing, I'm getting the creditation sorted for Lunkin. I'm using the music code below (- minus the music here stuff nonsense I replaced the "long winded different level music stuff of mine" with.
But I can't remember where I got it, and who wrote it:

void() musicplay =
{
music here stuff !
};

void() playmusic =
{
local entity music;

music = spawn();

music.nextthink = time + 1;
music.think = musicplay;
};


Ideas?
Sajt
Posts: 1215
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:39 am

Post by Sajt »

I'll help you. Replace the code with this.

void() musicplay =
{
sound (self, CHAN_VOICE, "music.wav", 1, ATTN_NONE);
};

voi() playmusic =
{
local entity music1, music2;

music1 = spawn ();
music2 = spawn ();

music1.origin = '-4096 -4096 -4096';
music2.origin = '4096 4096 4096';

music1.think = musicplay;
music2.think = musicplay;

music1.nextthink = time + 1.0;
music2.nextthink = time + 1.0;
};

If you do this, I'll let you credit nobody :) It's a common method for doing sound. (You have two sound players in different extremities of the level. This makes it so it doesn't sound like the music is coming out of only one speaker when turning in a certain direction)

Actually, the common method is:

void() playmusic =
{
ambientsound ('-4096 -4096 -4096', "music.wav", 1, ATTN_NONE);
ambientsound ('4096 4096 4096', "music.wav", 1, ATTN_NONE);
};

But that will make the sound play right away. If that's what you want (i.e. you won't be able to change the track til the level changes), then you can use that. Also the music must be looping to use the ambientsound version.
F. A. Špork, an enlightened nobleman and a great patron of art, had a stately Baroque spa complex built on the banks of the River Labe.
RenegadeC
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: The freezing hell; Canada
Contact:

Post by RenegadeC »

It's a shame the stereo sound hack method suppousedly doesn't work.

Record one channel as one .wav file, record the other channel as another .wav file .. play one wav at one side, and the other wav at the other end of the level.

It doesn't synch, although I'd like to try this for myself one day - especially in a 2D gameplay mod (I'll probably test it out using TAoV...)

So close ;)
ajay
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:44 am
Location: Swindon, UK

Post by ajay »

Thanks for the replies, on a different but connected note, and back to this bit of code:

void() musicplay =
{
music here stuff !
};

void() playmusic =
{
local entity music;

music = spawn();

music.nextthink = time + 1;
music.think = musicplay;
};


How could I turn it off?
Wazat
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Middle 'o the desert, USA

Post by Wazat »

play a different sound (such as misc/null.wav) on the same entity and the same channel.
When my computer inevitably explodes and kills me, my cat inherits everything I own. He may be the only one capable of continuing my work.
Gilgamesh
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Gilgamesh »

Wazat wrote:play a different sound (such as misc/null.wav) on the same entity and the same channel.
IIRC, null.wav is a looping sound. I prefer to play out beloved r_exp3.wav with volume 0, it works :)
#EOP
Wazat
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Middle 'o the desert, USA

Post by Wazat »

It's looping? The sound quake uses to stop other sounds is looping?

/me ponders what drunken orgy over at ID software spawned that decision...
When my computer inevitably explodes and kills me, my cat inherits everything I own. He may be the only one capable of continuing my work.
Gilgamesh
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Gilgamesh »

Wazat wrote:It's looping? The sound quake uses to stop other sounds is looping?

/me ponders what drunken orgy over at ID software spawned that decision...
Or i may be wrong (and the place where a saw it too)...
#EOP
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

Wazat wrote:It's looping? The sound quake uses to stop other sounds is looping?

/me ponders what drunken orgy over at ID software spawned that decision...
Well, look at it this way, if you ever had to stop an ambientsound (Which only accepts loops), It'd be real handy to have. =P
FrikaC
Site Admin
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:19 pm

Post by FrikaC »

But you can't change an ambientsound once spawned....
ajay
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:44 am
Location: Swindon, UK

Post by ajay »

Which is what I've found.....
FrikaC
Site Admin
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:19 pm

Post by FrikaC »

Behind the sofa along with a half eaten bag of Fritos....
ajay
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:44 am
Location: Swindon, UK

Post by ajay »

.. and the lost city of atlantis, lord lucan and shergar...

it's a big bloody sofa
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

FrikaC wrote:But you can't change an ambientsound once spawned....
Which is why null.wav being looped is so damn funny. :)
Gilgamesh
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by Gilgamesh »

Dr. Shadowborg wrote:
FrikaC wrote:But you can't change an ambientsound once spawned....
Which is why null.wav being looped is so damn funny. :)
I know what is the purpose: you can use it to create an ambientsound for quiet places! Yes, that is it. If you want a sound of frogs, there is one for it. If you want wind, there is another one. If you want no sound at all, you use this.

NEXT!
#EOP
Post Reply