mutiplayer menu episode select

Discuss programming in the QuakeC language.
Post Reply
Hazematman
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:58 am
Location: Canada

mutiplayer menu episode select

Post by Hazematman »

is the code that code to modify the episode select thing for multi-player in the engine or in the quake c code?

here is a picture just to make sure you know what i mean:

Image
GiffE
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:39 pm
Location: USA, CT
Contact:

Post by GiffE »

Its not in qc whats so ever, the default menu is all coded in engine. You can make your own menu system with menuqc but be prepared to start from scratch.
Hazematman
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:58 am
Location: Canada

Post by Hazematman »

Ok thanks for the reply. that good to know.
Arkage
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:17 pm

Post by Arkage »

Thats in the engine, the qc only gets loaded when a game is started.
Its in menu.c , try a search for "Slipgate Complex" in that file, it should bring you to the struct where they are defined.
Team Xlink
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:45 am
Location: Michigan

Post by Team Xlink »

I made a tutorial on that a while back:

http://forums.inside3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=1657
Mexicouger
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 10:12 pm
Contact:

Post by Mexicouger »

Just remember this:

Gameplay is in the qc.

The mechanics and behind the scene stuff is in the engine. Also, the whole menu, and Status bar, as well as physics and that stuff is all engine side. Quake c is just for modifying gameplay style, and what happens/what is in Gameplay.
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Post by mh »

Right about now somebody will say "CSQC"... :lol: :twisted:
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Post by leileilol »

I wish somebody said "scripts/*.arena" for this kind of thing :(
i should not be here
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Post by mh »

FindFirstFile/FindNextFile (or the libc equivalent) also works just fine, needs zero user configuration and gives all maps in all loaded mods, although it doesn't give you the episode names. Do you really need them anyway?
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Post by leileilol »

What about magically generating .arena files out of the maps/ folder by determining gametype by entities and their spawnflags? Like if there's monsters, it goes into 'sp', but if there's coop spawns, it throws that in the 'coop' type too, but if there's spawnflags for certain weapons to be deathmatch only and there's dm spawns it categorizes it as deathmatch, etcetera
i should not be here
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Post by mh »

That could certainly be done; parsing the entities lump in each map at load time is not too difficult.

One problem is that neither Quake nor QC mandate that a co-op start point, for example, has to be called "info_player_coop". Of course in the real world it's always called that, but there's no reason why one of those wacky modders can't call it "elephant" if they wanted.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

mh wrote: One problem is that neither Quake nor QC mandate that a co-op start point, for example, has to be called "info_player_coop". Of course in the real world it's always called that, but there's no reason why one of those wacky modders can't call it "elephant" if they wanted.
Most of us won't though. The only exception to the rule that I know of is TF and *maybe* CTF. (Glares venomously at TF)
Post Reply