Page 2 of 5

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 2:35 pm
by redrum
I'm sort of confused but I'll give it the old college try.
Thanks guys. 8)

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:39 pm
by redrum
I tried it. The bots are all black :(
Please take a look at the code, see if you can help. Thanks.

// FIXME: do teams properly
// note this has no effect on infokey
WriteByte(2, 92 ); // \
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 107); // k
WriteByte(2, 105); // i
WriteByte(2, 110); // n
WriteByte(2, 92); // \

if (self.b_num == 0)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 101); // e
}
else if (self.b_num == 1)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (self.b_num == 2)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}

WriteByte(2, 92); // \
WriteString( 2, who.netname);
};

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:13 pm
by redrum
BTW I did make the skin files foo.pcx, bar.pcx and put them in the QW/skins folder.

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 12:21 am
by FrikaC
1. that's only 3 out of 16 bot templates, look at bot_misc.qc's BotName function to see which b_num corresponds to which name/colors.

2. b_num has no 0, it's 1 thru 16, so you've only got 1 and 2 really implemented, that's 2 out of 16 bots.

3. It's actually who.b_num not self.b_num, I didn't convert it to the context of the function. (Gleaned from looking at the who.netname line)

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:27 pm
by redrum
Ok, I'll try it. Thanks.

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:59 pm
by Teiman
Theres more than one way to skin a cat...

he.. ..frikbot.

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:35 pm
by redrum
Still all black, also I noticed the bots names do not appear in the scoreboard anymore. Anyway, here's what the code looks like now:

// FIXME: do teams properly
// note this has no effect on infokey
WriteByte(2, 92 ); // \
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 107); // k
WriteByte(2, 105); // i
WriteByte(2, 110); // n
WriteByte(2, 92); // \

if (who.b_num == 1)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 101); // e
}
else if (who.b_num == 2)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 3)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 4)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 5)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 6)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 7)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 8)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 9)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 10)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 11)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 12)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 13)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 14)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 15)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 16)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
WriteByte(2, 92); // \
WriteString( 2, who.netname);
};

Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:35 pm
by redrum
Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?......

Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 7:33 pm
by Error
I hated that damn movie :?

Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:16 pm
by redrum
That was a classic!

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:16 pm
by redrum
So, can anyone help me with this???

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:21 pm
by FrikaC
That should work. Are you sure those foo and bar pcx files you have are right size & format?

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:30 am
by redrum
Yeah, the skins are good I've used them before. I just re-named them to foo, and bar.
Did you happen to test it yourself?

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:08 am
by redrum
Weird.
I've been using FuhQuake as my client.
When I decided to try the regular Quakeworld client walla! It worked!
I had put the skin files in both C:\Fuhquake\QW\skins and C:\Quakeworld\QW\skins folders.
Shouldn't it work using the Fuhquake client as well?
Thanks for all the help.

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:28 am
by redrum
Another problem:
When clients connect to the server, they can't download the skins. Even when they try to force it by typing "skins" at the console?
They keep seeing the "base" skin. What gives?