Modding Quake 2 movement

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.
Post Reply
JasonX
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:08 pm

Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by JasonX »

So, I just started modding Yamagi Quake and I'm in love with it. The code is easy to compile, read and modify. It's a joy, so much fun that it reminds me of the UnrealScript on UT99. Anyway: if you compare Quake 2 to Quake 1, though, it sucks. The game is slow, weapons feel less powerful, enemies are slow... everything looks like is in slow motion. Does anyone know if there's an existing mode that detected this and made Q2 look like Q1 or Q3?
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

Unfortunately, no. Also, due to Quake2 lacking a VM of any kind, crossplatform requires that you compile separate gamecode files for windows, linux, mac, etc. And since very few (that I''m aware of anyway) Quake2 mods ever released the gamecode source separately...

I'm planning on making a Quake2 QC codebase for use with FTEQW once I finish getting my new QC Codebase / FBX Upgrade finished.

Some of the things I'm planning for this project include changing the game to correct the gameplay flaws, and be more consistent with Quake 4. (which was a decent game, despite the lack of exploration that Quake2 had)

On the roadmap for this:
1. New weapon models / mods for most weapons. Chaingun would be replaced with Nailgun for example.
2. New models (and in some instances new monsters) for certain monsters: Engineer, Icarus (should be Jetpack Tactical IMO), Berserker, Light Tank, Iron Maiden, Gladiator, etc.
3. Vehicles, for great Metal Slug-ish Justice. >=D (Hovertank, Slug Gunner-esque walker)
4. Maybe a few new maps for better bridging, vehicle fight insertion.
5. Upgraded FBX for DM play.
frag.machine
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by frag.machine »

Sounds great! Let me know if you need help with something.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
Spike
Posts: 2914
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by Spike »

I blame quake2's 10fps nature for making so many things unworkable even in singleplayer. The annoying part is that its really annoying to 'fix', with all sorts of compatibility issues (for a start, it needs new gamecode, which makes it an impossible feature for me).

right now I'm wondering what issues fte would have with (vanilla) q2 gamecode converted to qc. it'd need to use chunks of csqc to deal with stuff like shell-fx and beams etc, as well as the hud, etc. particles can at least be spawned using the q2part.* effects easily enough. getting the player physics the same(ish) will no doubt be a lot of work though (might even be easier to add a 'pm_quake2ish' cvar to the engine...).
but yeah... it would certainly be an interesting project.
and now I'm wondering how well fteqcc accepts C code.
JasonX
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by JasonX »

I honestly prefer all the game code in C. Easier to debug, i get to use my IDE and all its features. Also, i can use a bit of C++ where it makes sense, like monsters. Maybe that's why I've been enjoying it so much. The only problem is that the game itself feels like crap.

I've fixed the movement code to make it look a little more like Quake 3. Now I'm working on enemies and tweaking player speed. The lack of Q2 gamecode tutorials sucks, but getting to use an IDE is super helpful.

BTW, What do you mean by 10fps nature?
frag.machine
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by frag.machine »

Quake and Quake 2 models assume a 10 frames/second animation speed.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
qbism
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by qbism »

I don't know if default Q2 movement was modified, but I'd look at mods like Lithium and AQ2. I always think the Q2 player needs a brake job, upgrade to disc brakes or something :) A little too much momentum when stopping.
Jay Dolan
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Naples, FL
Contact:

Re: Modding Quake 2 movement

Post by Jay Dolan »

If you enjoy hacking on cleaned up Quake2 code, and you're looking for Quake2 with some elements of Quake and Quake3, then I'd like to invite you to come join the Quetoo team:

https://github.com/jdolan/quetoo
https://facebook.com/Quetoo.org
https://discord.gg/qB6NPP
http://quetoo.org

Some of our features include a Quake3-inspired refactor of our player movement, the introduction of a Quake3- style client-side game module, OpenGL 3.2 renderer (full GLSL), 40Hz tick rate, all new and original content, and a dozen or so high quality maps -- including ports of the 8 original Quake2 deathmatch levels.
Post Reply