Create .bsp models from within maps

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

Cobalt wrote: Oh and if you look closely there are 'spikes' or portrusions at the 4 corners inside the circle. I didnt see a way to unselect them in the editor and I thought they were pieces only visible from the back, but now I see they are part of a brush area ...?

Here is its .map file if anyone wants to take a peek: http://pastie.org/9680116
I looked at your .map file, found the problem:
You missed the four remaining parts of the center teleport field brush. It looks like spikes / protrusions due to an optical illusion relating to the ring frame showing through where there are parts missing from the center teleport field brush. They probably are broken up into so many pieces due to the "no concave brushes allowed" rule of Q1BSP.
Cobalt
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:58 am
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by Cobalt »

Oh, thanks. I redid it and now I have it rendering corectly. Makes for some interesting map variations now that the 'slipgates' are dynamic models. They can spawn partially in walls, floors or ceilings, and in DP I played with modelflags EF_ROTATE and they can rotate. Only problem is thats client side rotation I believe, and I thought I saw a rotating bmodel example someplace, perhaps in the extras mod if I recall.

Dr. Shadowborg wrote:I looked at your .map file, found the problem:
You missed the four remaining parts of the center teleport field brush. It looks like spikes / protrusions due to an optical illusion relating to the ring frame showing through where there are parts missing from the center teleport field brush. They probably are broken up into so many pieces due to the "no concave brushes allowed" rule of Q1BSP.
Cobalt
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:58 am
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by Cobalt »

One more question. How can I edit a texture to change one of its colors? Is it possible in JH ?
ceriux
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by ceriux »

Cobalt wrote:One more question. How can I edit a texture to change one of its colors? Is it possible in JH ?
wally

http://www.quaketerminus.com/tools.shtml
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

Cobalt wrote:One more question. How can I edit a texture to change one of its colors? Is it possible in JH ?
Not directly in Jackhammer. Use a program like Texmex to extract / export your texture, edit it using your preferred image editing program, then re-import / replace the texture (do NOT replace, unless you're updating your own texture) in your wadfile with your edited version. Depending on whether or not you replaced your texture (again, do NOT replace unless this is your own unique texture) or imported it as a different name, your texture will either replace the texture you were using in your map, or be available for use as a different texture.

You could also just make a fresh wadfile (ex. cobalt.wad) with your new texture (avoid duplicate texture names, including texture names from any other wads you are using, otherwise you can expect some bad problems) and add it to your list of wadfiles to use inside Jackhammer. (preferred method)
Cobalt
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:58 am
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by Cobalt »

Tried Wally. seemed to help. I saved the tele_top tex as a bmp and used MS phot premium 10 to alter the colors. Left a little bit to be desired as it tended to leave some artifacts in some of the mid scale colors. To reduce it I had to set the birghtness level lower in Jackhammer for the texture library. Did what Dr said and made my own cobalt.wad after pasting the new edited tex in as a new mip. So they came out ok, but I suppose these could look alot better as hires, but I dont know how to convert them.

Image



Image
xaGe
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:29 am
Location: Upstate, New York
Contact:

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by xaGe »

Dude, got you back there, no worries... :D
Cobalt wrote:I suppose these could look alot better as hires, but I dont know how to convert them.
Last edited by xaGe on Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
ceriux
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by ceriux »

you can do it in photoshop, but it'll just look the same. the only way to really make a high-res version of a texture is to literally remake it in a high resolution.
xaGe
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:29 am
Location: Upstate, New York
Contact:

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by xaGe »

Quite easily done in gimp for FREE and I did do just that for him already. The texture has literally already been redone in a slightly "hires" retexture by the QRP. Took me around 45 minutes playing around with a little cutting, layering, recoloring and exporting as tga to get the job done. I decided to go above and beyond to take it one step further and created a wad from the recolored retextures for him. Conversion from true color to the Quake pallet being such as it is with its inherent issues took another good 45 minutes between gimp, texmex and wally to get them to my liking.

I don't have any in game or editor screenshots, but here are a few screenshots of my gimp work file which I included in the upload along with a thumbnail shot in Thunar. No revelations here, nor rocket science, just a little time and some digital elbow grease. Special thanks of course again to Quake Retexturing Project for the lovely texture replacements I mainly use in my Quake life.

Image

Image

Image
ceriux wrote:you can do it in photoshop, but it'll just look the same. the only way to really make a high-res version of a texture is to literally remake it in a high resolution.
Madfox
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: Create .bsp models from within maps

Post by Madfox »

When I made a mod for Quake1 "The Hangar"of the first Doom level,
there were a lot of sprites like the health bowls.
I made them in Quark6.4 in the map editor, by constructing a kind of skull with the brushes,
gave them a decent skin texture, and put them excact on the 0.0.0 grid.
Then I made some lights around them so it gave a dimensional shape.
There may be no walls around it, just the object itself.

When compiling the vis compiler will fail, because it reports a leak.
I put the skull.bsp in the entity list and in the items.qc I added a script
for a removal object like the health kit and compiled a new progs.dat

Then I could use the skull.bsp as an health kit in the Doom mod.
Post Reply