PCem

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

You can use this with virtualbox its a bit slow though.

http://bearwindows.boot-land.net/vbe9x.htm

supports win 95 also :)

heres a howto http://blog.crythias.com/2011/04/better ... albox.html
Productivity is a state of mind.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: PCem

Post by leileilol »

mankrip wrote:What I want is to use old tools like AdQuedit (which doesn't run properly on anything newer than XP) and to install a Linux distro.
For vintage Win9X tool use i'd just use VirtualPC 2007 since that can use virtualization and has drivers for Win9X, as well as drag and drop (kind of an important thing regarding workflow). Ignore the "not supported host OS!" stuff, works fine in 7 x64 for me.

It even has undo disks so if adquedit nukes your files it's no problem to undo! (also btw..... why adquedit?)
i should not be here
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Might be he was used to working with it :) last version was free but im not sure the source code was ever released ? if it was and someone has it i could try and port it over to newer OS.
Many old tools where really nice but newer got updated for post win9x though some work when using compatibility settings, one of my favorites (norton commander) has luckily had many clones,
sadly norton navigator was newer updated and does not work on anything newer than win 95 (believe me i tried everything).
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Tried pcem and a few remarks.

was missing libgcc dependency so did not work first time.
configure menu is not working.

i recompiled it with my own compiler that defaults to linking statically to the gcc runtimes.
this is not a problem, in case you want to debug it cause my compiler was patched to allow throwing exceptions from the static libraries).

http://sourceforge.net/projects/cbadvan ... z/download

used latest OpenAL and Alut.

included all roms from the pcem site.

pcem now has an icon.
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

the broken configure menu seems to be a bug in pcem's resource script,
it refuses to compile unless i run it through a resource editor to rearrange some of the defines but that breaks the configure menu :S
i have a hunch that the pcem builder uses an archaic mingw version with a really old windres cause the newer ones from 2.23 and up dont accept the resource scripts.
Sadly there are not many resource editors avaliable for mingw, i used resed from radasm but i tried with resedit also and both break the config menu so it seems there is a bug in the rc.
Productivity is a state of mind.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: PCem

Post by leileilol »

PCem's configure menu works in my mingw compiles.
i should not be here
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Yeah it seems to be related to the binutils version used, i tried with an older one and now it works.
So seems i have to file a bugreport to the binutils mantainers.

final build here http://sourceforge.net/projects/cbadvan ... z/download

compiled with sse3 optimization and core2 machine instructions, linked statically to the libstdc++ and libgcc libraries so the only dll dependencies are libalut and OpenAL32.

If you need a version compiled for a lower end machine ill make one, just wanted to see if the optimizations would have any effect.
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Well this is the code piece it breaks on

Code: Select all

CONTROL			"",IDC_MEMSPIN,UPDOWN_CLASS,UDS_ALIGNRIGHT | UDS_ARROWKEYS | UDS_NOTHOUSANDS | UDS_SETBUDDYINT,98,152,12,14
command windres.exe -i pc.rc --input-format=rc -o pc.res -O coff --use-temp-file

windres.exe: pc.rc:72: syntax error hmm ??? i wonder if the empty "" is whats causing newer windres to go bonkers.
Productivity is a state of mind.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: PCem

Post by leileilol »

revelator wrote: compiled with sse3 optimization and core2 machine instructions,
sadly, this crashes on my AMD.
i should not be here
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Ok ill upload a few other pcem builds with optimization for AMD :)
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

http://sourceforge.net/projects/cbadvan ... z/download

AMD builds covers pretty much all archs even the embedded ones.
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

fixed the rc error need to include
#include <commctrl.h>
just below
#include <windows.h>
mingw version that was used to build pcem used an earlier win32api which did not have this requirement.
works now also with the latest gcc and binutils :)
Productivity is a state of mind.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: PCem

Post by leileilol »

Running with opteron-sse3 causes Windows 98SE to crash its video driver in a text mode with a bunch of repeating characters


Running Q3Ademo on Q3DM17 with AM486DX4/120 and infinite cache, here's the execution percentages i'm getting of a 320x240 ~3fps scene

Original release - 79%
Athlon - 67%
AthlonXP - 67%
Barcelona = 67%
Geode = 68%
Opteron = 72%
Opteron SSE3 = 70%

somehow i'm doubting the usefulness of automatic optimization
i should not be here
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Not automatic just toyed a bit with the different cpu models various optimizations, does not help a bit though if the code cant make use of features like say SSE either because its not coded for that or incompatible.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/cbadvan ... z/download

64 bit build and yes it works :) actually only one place where the 64 bit compiler says no and its in resid-fp not in PCem itself, so i had to compile with -fpermissive to create it but it seems to work so far
(might not work on AMD its compiled with intel instructions). Ill make one for AMD also.

i also created a codeblocks project for the source, the maintainer is welcome to use it.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/cbadvan ... z/download
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: PCem

Post by revelator »

Cleaned up the code some and fixed a bug in the audio library (OpenAL).
Also fixed some compiler warnings about functions with no default type and some typecast problems.
Still needs work but its heaps better allready.

Built with standard I686 machine type so should work on all processors.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cbadvan ... z/download

btw how do you install say win98 in this if you dont have the cd anymore ? i got iso backups of all my windows versions but PCem seems to be unable to boot from cd with the roms i could find.
Productivity is a state of mind.
Post Reply