What are you working on?

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: What are you working on?

Post by leileilol »

No because for blending i'd STILL have to process in RGB, or else i'll have tinted monochromatic shading.
i should not be here
qbism
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: What are you working on?

Post by qbism »

I gave "indexed colored lighting" a shot. True, the palettized colors can't directly blend, but alphamap lookup and dithering is about good enough for 8-bit:
Image
Image
Image
This is
1. Keep the standard lighmap.
2. Map incoming RGB .lit file to the indexed palette.
3. Do blocked indexed colored light.
4. At mips, add light as usual plus alphamap with indexed colored block.
Last edited by qbism on Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: What are you working on?

Post by leileilol »

man, it looks like the PowerVR PCX2 in Quake2.

Surprising that you actually attempted it though, it needs a multiply table to really work. I'd include this as a quality setting i guess. there's also model lighting to deal with

The absolute fastest and ugliest would be using the menumap to color the lighting and models, like Duke3D's palette remap tricks :P
i should not be here
qbism
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: What are you working on?

Post by qbism »

A special table for lighting would improve vs. just abusing the alphamap table as shown. And dithering is only horizontal now. But it's almost free color. In R_DrawSurfaceBlock8_mip0

Code: Select all

            color = r_colorptr[i%2]; //qbism- can't blend indexed, just dither for now.  Could be better?

            for (b=15; b>=0; b--)
            {
               pix = psource[b];
               prowdest[b] = ((unsigned char *)vid.colormap)[(light & 0xFF00) + alphamap[pix*256 + color]];
               light += lightstep;
               color = r_colorptr[(b+i)%2];
            }
goldenboy
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:04 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Re: What are you working on?

Post by goldenboy »

Image

Quake Mario Raider Grappler Walljump Mod.

aka functional level design - doing the gameplay first.

http://spawnhost.wordpress.com/2012/01/ ... orm-quake/
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Re: What are you working on?

Post by mh »

Nuclear explosion lighting.

Image

Light intensities can be arbitrarily scaled. 1 is default Quake. No clamping, no upper limit, it can go all the way to 10000 and beyond. No lightmaps need to be uploaded, no performance hit - gradual ramp up or fade down, slow or fast, day/night cycles, potential ability to scale each colour channel independently, pulsing global lights, whatever.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
qbism
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: What are you working on?

Post by qbism »

mh wrote:Nuclear explosion lighting.

Light intensities can be arbitrarily scaled.
That really... hurts. In a good way. Accessible to qc?
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Re: What are you working on?

Post by mh »

qbism wrote:
mh wrote:Nuclear explosion lighting.

Light intensities can be arbitrarily scaled.
That really... hurts. In a good way. Accessible to qc?
Right now it's cvars so yes, but in a nasty way. The intention is actually to function as an option for brightening lightmaps for those who had trouble with the recent RMQ demo, so accessing it in it's current form via QC could result in unwanted side-effects (like resetting to 1 when what the player was using before was 1.2, say). There's no reason whatsoever why a proper QC/protocol interface to it couldn't be built, however.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
CocoT
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Belly-Gum
Contact:

Re: What are you working on?

Post by CocoT »

goldenboy wrote:Image

Quake Mario Raider Grappler Walljump Mod.

aka functional level design - doing the gameplay first.
I like the sound (and look) of that! :)
Neurotic Conversions - New location: Update your bookmarks!
frag.machine
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: What are you working on?

Post by frag.machine »

A 16 x16 pixel (not all chars are 16x16 actually, thats why they're contained into 20x20 pixel boxes) charset for custom menus, as close to the original artwork as I can make:
Image
Charset based off the Brazelton TruType font (which AFAIK is OK to be used(*) ), in PNG format with OpenGL-friendly dimensions (512x256).
Will work better if drawn as a non-monospaced font.

(*) I must admit I am not sure if I am violating someone else copyrights. If someone thinks (and can proof) it's the case, please let me know and I'll pull it out. If there are no legal problems about it, one can consider this as public domain artwork and use it freely. However, in the case you slap it in your work it would be nice (but not required) if you credit me. You know, 1 line of credit in the readme.txt would be enough and won't steal any of the glory and fame you'll get :)
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: What are you working on?

Post by leileilol »

"The stylized Q" is part of the trademark application for Quake I believe
this font is still derivative

You could ask Marty or Todd about it
i should not be here
Spike
Posts: 2914
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: What are you working on?

Post by Spike »

frag.machine, the QRP already provides an equivelent but incompatible menu font.
frag.machine
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: What are you working on?

Post by frag.machine »

Spike wrote:frag.machine, the QRP already provides an equivelent but incompatible menu font.
Yeah I know but frankly I didn't think it matches with the original artwork.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
Baker
Posts: 3666
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: What are you working on?

Post by Baker »

frag.machine wrote:
Spike wrote:frag.machine, the QRP already provides an equivelent but incompatible menu font.
Yeah I know but frankly I didn't think it matches with the original artwork.
I'd like a large char menu font that is conservative enough for old school WinQuake/GLQuake like engines, and I haven't seen one yet. By definition such a font wouldn't be able to be public domain, but that doesn't matter as Quake, the textures and so forth are not public domain. It is hard to make a classic looking menu that doesn't use the supplied large letters.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
pitchatan
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: sweden

Re: What are you working on?

Post by pitchatan »

Image

terrain with normalmaps, gotta admit that they made a world of difference.
Post Reply