DOS Quake v1.07 (or newer)

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.
siska.robert
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

DOS Quake v1.07 (or newer)

Post by siska.robert »

Hi.

My quake modification takes advantage of changing gravity that was introduced in Scourge, I belive...
I've never bought any expansion pack, so all I have is v1.06 engine.

I know modern engines can do this, but I need DOS support as well :)

So, can you please send or link me to newer version of DOS quake engine? Thanks!
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

official source should be 1.09 i think ? must be a rather old source you got :)

could also try tochris allthough the source is rather different then the original. allthough i think the software source is targetted at winquake not dosquake.

or QIP quake (both gl and dos source) also has pretty much any fix posted on quakesrc in its time and a few more like Q3 cvars and command callback.
Spirit
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Spirit »

Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
siska.robert
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by siska.robert »

I certainly am aware of engoo, I just wanted something simpler. Without all those lookup tables and whatnot. (Althought I'm also aware of -ugly switch...)

Is there problem with distributing that hipnotic's dosquake? Or just nobody has got it anymore? :)
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Post by mh »

I don't think an ID DOS Quake beyond 1.06 ever existed. It should be possible to build a DOS executable from the released source, but it's an extremely marginal market; nobody really has DOS any more.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
siska.robert
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by siska.robert »

Alright. I'm glad that there is engoo then :)

Now, just of the curiosity, did not the Scourge of Armagon run on DOS? If so, it couldn't be on 1.06 engine (imho!) since it doesn't support all that hipnotic's stuff... I'm puzzled :D
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

hmm actually it seems the gravity stuff was from rogue not hipnotic.

Code: Select all

//===========================================
//rogue changed and added defines

#define RIT_SHELLS              128
#define RIT_NAILS               256
#define RIT_ROCKETS             512
#define RIT_CELLS               1024
#define RIT_AXE                 2048
#define RIT_LAVA_NAILGUN        4096
#define RIT_LAVA_SUPER_NAILGUN  8192
#define RIT_MULTI_GRENADE       16384
#define RIT_MULTI_ROCKET        32768
#define RIT_PLASMA_GUN          65536
#define RIT_ARMOR1              8388608
#define RIT_ARMOR2              16777216
#define RIT_ARMOR3              33554432
#define RIT_LAVA_NAILS          67108864
#define RIT_PLASMA_AMMO         134217728
#define RIT_MULTI_ROCKETS       268435456
#define RIT_SHIELD              536870912
#define RIT_ANTIGRAV            1073741824 -> might be this one ?
#define RIT_SUPERHEALTH         2147483648
hipnotic added empaty shields it seems.

also changed the defines to use bitflags instead.

Code: Select all

//MED 01/04/97 added hipnotic defines
//===========================================
//hipnotic added defines
#define HIT_PROXIMITY_GUN_BIT 16
#define HIT_MJOLNIR_BIT       7
#define HIT_LASER_CANNON_BIT  23
#define HIT_PROXIMITY_GUN   (1<<HIT_PROXIMITY_GUN_BIT)
#define HIT_MJOLNIR         (1<<HIT_MJOLNIR_BIT)
#define HIT_LASER_CANNON    (1<<HIT_LASER_CANNON_BIT)
#define HIT_WETSUIT         (1<<(23+2))
#define HIT_EMPATHY_SHIELDS (1<<(23+3))
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

reckless wrote:hmm actually it seems the gravity stuff was from rogue not hipnotic.
No it was from hipnotic, the gravity belt was just rogue utilizing the .gravity field introduced with Scourge of Armagon. (Scourge used it as a triggerbrush so that you could do areas of the map with low gravity, I don't think DoE used it outside of the gravity belt powerup)
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

ok that explains it :)

tbh i newer played the expansion on dos, at the time i got it i was using win2000 so quite some time after heh.
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Post by mh »

Basically Hipnotic got the engine source code and made changes to it for supporting their pack. These changes were subsequently picked up by ID and rolled into an official 1.07 release.

I've never used the Hipnotic executable - and likely never will - so I have no idea if it's even capable of running standard ID1 Quake or any other mods.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

hmm i still got the cd might try and have a go at it :)
siska.robert
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by siska.robert »

mh wrote:These changes were subsequently picked up by ID and rolled into an official 1.07 release.
Aa-hah!
reckless wrote:hmm i still got the cd might try and have a go at it :)
that would be sweet :)
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

hehe i had to install it on my old vectra win7 would know nothing of it :lol: works ok on win 98 se though. standard quake runs ok with the hipnotic exe it seems but i havent done a lot of testing with it yet so lets see :)
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Post by leileilol »

no one knows the id software ftp anymore.

ftp://ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/quake/quake108.zip

what a shame

fun fact: id software's web site mistakenly links to this file as 'shareware version of Quake' on their id tech page. They should really be linking to quake106.zip
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

jebus totally forgot :oops: nice find hehe.
Post Reply