Forum

FTE Client debugging commands

Discuss programming topics for any language, any source base. If it is programming related but doesn't fit in one of the below categories, it goes here.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

FTE Client debugging commands

Postby ratbert » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:24 am

Having issue with maybe bad model or something on my coop mod.

Right now I got it running on FTE server and trying to connect it locally FTE client.

Is there anykind of debugging on the FTE client that can be set to say what is going on?

Tried setting the FTE server debug stuff on and do not see anything that really stands out.

Maybe is there any utility that checks a quake mdl file is good or not?
ratbert
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: FTE Client debugging commands

Postby Spike » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:05 pm

I'm not quite sure what the issue actually is here...

if its crashing, grab a debug build from triptohell.info/moodles and give me a stack trace and I can try to guess what the issue is based upon the line its crashing on.

if its just not appearing, you can try the various permutations of r_showbboxes 3.
2: shows entities directly from csqc
3: shows networked entities received by the client.
If the bbox is visible with a setting of 2 or 3 then you know its at least being networked properly.
if the server's status command shows more than 255 models precached, then you should make sure that you don't have protocol extensions disabled.

if the client detects a dodgy model, it's meant to print a message on the console and refuse to load it or something.
Spike
 
Posts: 2883
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK


Return to General Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests