Page 1 of 1

trigger_changelevel problem on the psp

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:12 pm
by dr_mabuse
Hi,

I am working on my first Kurok/Quake MOD called "Wolfenstein Arcade".

I run the MOD atm on the PSP with Kurok 0.4 and ProQuake eboot for testing around, and i got a problem:

I have placed "trigger_changelevel" brushes at the end of the maps and they are working fine on "FitzKurok" on the PC, but on the PSP you only see the loadingscreen and the game starts hanging.

Can somebody help me? What have i done wrong??

Greets :)

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:37 pm
by Spirit
Wolfenstein is an id Software trademark, you might want to find a slightly more unique name for your game.

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:49 pm
by dr_mabuse
The current name is only a "placeholder"...

EDIT: i replaced my own mp3s with the Kurok mp3s and it doesnt hang anymore...

anybody knows whats wrong with the engines?
I have edited the Quake C code with my own mp3s for each level, and it only random crashes when you go to the next level...

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:18 pm
by Biodude
the problem is that the kurok music is looped somehow, you have to modify the songs to make them that way

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:25 pm
by dr_mabuse
yes, i already did that in the QuakeC source...
they are playing perfectly in the maps, but i got random crashes when switching levels with trigger_changelevel...

I replaced my own startmap with the one from kurok and now it seems to work, but now it will crash when i am walking around on my e1m1 map.... AWWWWWW..... :? :? :? :?

Re: trigger_changelevel problem on the psp

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:35 am
by Baker
Better late than never ...

The PSP hardware MP3 player source code in cd.cpp or whatever will play after end of file, resulting in a crash. This includes the Kurok PSP engine.

The Kurok QC hardcoded specific times to force a QuakeC command to restart the track via the "play" command, this was done per map with the expectation that the soundtrack for E1M1 would X and restart at 2:03 because X.mp3 had a soundtrack length of 2:04.

Re: trigger_changelevel problem on the psp

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:30 am
by mankrip
The original 1.06 QC code has a bug in the changelevel routines:

Code: Select all

void() ExitIntermission =
{
...
//
// run some text if at the end of an episode
//
	if (intermission_running == 2)
	{
		if (world.model == "maps/e1m7.bsp")
		{
...
		}
		else if (world.model == "maps/e2m6.bsp")
		{
...
		}
		else if (world.model == "maps/e3m6.bsp")
		{
...
		}
		else if (world.model == "maps/e4m7.bsp")
		{
...
		}

// commented this out because it gives a "signon 1 when at 1" error message in some "map list" mods
//		GotoNextMap(); // mankrip - removed
	}
	
	if (intermission_running == 3)
	{
...
	}

	GotoNextMap();
};

Re: trigger_changelevel problem on the psp

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:02 am
by dr_mabuse
Thanks, i got the problem solved (hopefully) ;)
I fixed the MP3 issue myself in the ProQuake engine and in QC...

However, my mod is still random crashing when i try to fire a weapon on some maps on the PSP, and its getting frustrating. :twisted: