Absolute Beginners guide to using shaders

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.
OneManClan

Absolute Beginners guide to using shaders

Post by OneManClan »

[Update July 2015: added extra commands to help w debugging in notes section]

[BIG FAT DISCLAIMER: I'm a beginner to this, so I *barely* know what I'm doing. I've checked with Spike and GB (thanks HEAPS guys!!), so if the following is wrong, it's not insanely wrong. I'll be constantly editing this page as new info comes in, or if I think of a clearer way to describe something, so anyone reading this please check back, and read the comments/corrections/clarifications (below) from those who know more than I]

INTRODUCTION
Hi all. Inspired by some [edit: the following link is now dead] tantalising screenshots of GBs upcoming Scout's Journey, I've delved into the world of shaders. All the stuff I rtfmed however was to do with the writing of shaders, but not the implementation, no 'step by step' guide to actually putting one in a map [EDIT: specifically a q1 map using a q1 map editor]], and now that I've (finally) got one working(!), here's the guide I wish I had, the guide for absolute beginners.

BACKGROUND INFO: WHAT'S A SHADER?