using custom maps

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

using custom maps

Post by not_l33t »

how do you use custom single player maps in a mod.
Spirit
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Spirit »

Put them in /yourmod/maps?
Make sure you read the txt and/or ask the author for permission.
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

Post by not_l33t »

i did that but it still didn't work
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

Try running quake like this:

Quake.exe -game yourmod +map yourmap

Or, alternately, type "map yourmap" at the console.
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

Post by not_l33t »

ok that finds the map but (theres aways a but) it sayscouldn't spawn server maps/test.bsp and dose not load the map. also what is the should the map be saved as .map or .bsp i have read that its .map but this has me thinking otherwise.
Entar
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 7:27 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Entar »

.bsp - you'll need a compiler ( I recommend hmap2 which can be found at the DarkPlaces site http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces ) to make a .bsp file out of a .map.
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

Post by not_l33t »

i got that but i can not get it to work and its not real clear in the read me on how to use it
HeadThump
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Zin

Post by HeadThump »

if the engine refused to spawn the map it could also mean that you don't have a player start entity in your bsp file.
Entar
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 7:27 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Entar »

HeadThump wrote:if the engine refused to spawn the map it could also mean that you don't have a player start entity in your bsp file.
Yeah, but it usually tells you that's the problem (i.e. "No info_player_start")
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

Post by not_l33t »

i have that. i need to compile the .map to a .bsp
http://bradshub.ath.cx - take a look at my web site.

Come on, admit it. You're the smartest person you know.
HeadThump
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Zin

Post by HeadThump »

okay, here is the quick and dirty way to get a map to compile into a bsp. I'm skipping editor set ups and the like. There are smoother ways to do this but I like to do things manually.

Down load these two files:

http://user.tninet.se/~xir870k/txqbspbjp.zip

http://user.tninet.se/~xir870k/visbjp.zip

put the executables light.exe, vis.exe, txqbsp.exe in a folder. I use c:\maps, same structure I've used for years. Put your .map file along with them. Bring up the Notepad program, assuming you are on a Windows based platform. Write this out, 'txqbsp mymap.map
vis mymap.bsp light -extra mymap.bsp'.

Save this as something like, mymap.bat in the same folder with everything else. It is important to save it with the .bat extension.
Double click on the new bat file, and things will process. When it is finished, open up the file labled, Qbsp_Log.txt, and scan down to the bottom. There you will find your errors, like, 'WARNING: No entities in empty space -- no filling performed' (though that one is just a warning, it is still a decent example).

Now, go to this site, http://user.tninet.se/~xir870k/tooltips.txt
look up your errors, and fix them according to the directions given. When your map is error free, it will compile into a bsp which can be played by using the command lines quoted in post above.
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

Post by not_l33t »

i did that but the thing opens and closes realy fast. i also don't get a file called Qbsp_Log.txt i get one called VIS.txt wtf
http://bradshub.ath.cx - take a look at my web site.

Come on, admit it. You're the smartest person you know.
HeadThump
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Zin

Post by HeadThump »

the compile process will generate Qbsp_log.txt, vis.log and light.log (among other files like, mymap.vis, mymap.prt). Even if a bsp file isn't created, it will generate the Qbsp_log.txt, if the .bat program is written correctly and if the txQbsp.exe file is in the same folder (you can use other folders but it requires a slightly more complex instruction set in the .bat file).

mymap.map
txqbsp.exe
vis.exe
light.exe
mymap.bat

all in the same folder. the .bat file (a simple text file with a .bat extension) written out like this:

txqbsp.exe mymap.map
vis.exe mymap.bsp
light.exe -extra mymap.bsp


Extra is not really necessary in the light compilation, but who wants to see jaggies. Keep trying from the start if it doesn't work the first dozen times or so. Likely you have a spelling error in the bat (short for batch) program you created.
not_l33t
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Downunder
Contact:

Post by not_l33t »

ok its working now. the problem was that is didn't have the .bat file wrong, which i thought i had done and if u hadn't replied today i was going to have another look at it.

thanks :D
http://bradshub.ath.cx - take a look at my web site.

Come on, admit it. You're the smartest person you know.
HeadThump
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Zin

Post by HeadThump »

When I began mapping, I was the noobiest noobie in all of Noobiedom. Nothing I tried ever worked as it should on the first go at it.
Post Reply