Forum

The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby SleepwalkR » Fri Mar 01, 2013 7:28 pm

Today I am releasing TrenchBroom 1.0 for Windows and Mac OS X. TrenchBroom is a modern cross-platform level editor for Quake.

FEATURES
- True 3D editing, no 2D views required
- High performance renderer with support for huge maps
- Vertex editing with edge and face splitting that will not create invalid brushes
- Manipulation of multiple vertices at once (great for trisoup editing)
- Smart clip tool
- Move, rotate and flip brushes and entities
- Precise texture lock for all operations
- Smart entity property editors
- Graphical entity browser with drag and drop support
- Comprehensive texture application and manipulation tools
- Search and filter functions
- Unlimited undo and redo
- Point file support
- Automatic backup
- Support for .def and .fdg files, mods and multiple wad files
- Free (as in beer) and open source (GPLv3)
- Cross platform (Windows, Mac OS X and Linux supported)

Check out a video of TrenchBroom in action here.

You can download the editor here.

If you would like to give feedback, please do that in this thread. If you find a bug or have a feature suggestion, please submit them at the issue tracker.

If you are wondering where the Linux binaries are then sorry, but currently there are none. The Linux version has a few problems which I could not fix before this release. I will get working on those right away so that the Linux version should be available in a couple of weeks, too.

Finally, I would like to thank necros for all his work over the past year. Without his tireless efforts, TrenchBroom would simply not exist. Or it would suck.

Alright, enough of this. Have fun with the editor!
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby goldenboy » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:15 pm

Looks very cool. Any chance at q3 .map and shader support, or will it stay quake 1 "exclusive"? :wink:

Does it output standard Quake .map format or Valve220 format?
User avatar
goldenboy
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:04 pm
Location: Kiel

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby SleepwalkR » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:26 pm

Right now it outputs standard Quake maps. It will read Valve 220 maps, but it will disregard the per face texture axes. I would certainly like to support Quake 3, but I would need someone who knows the format well and who would be willing to test the editor as I'm not familiar with Quake 3.
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby andrewj » Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:43 pm

For releases you should provide a source zip -- downloading 64MB of git repository is a pain compared with a 10MB (pure guess) source package.

Anyway, congratulations on your 1.0 release, I can see a lot of work has gone into this program. I personally work on a cross-platform editor for a similarly ancient game (DOOM) and know that this can be a rather unexciting and thank-less space to work in.
andrewj
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Australia

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby frag.machine » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:49 am

Nice... Great job, looks very intuitive and agile.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
User avatar
frag.machine
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby qbism » Sat Mar 02, 2013 4:50 am

After a few minutes of playing, it's a pleasure to use.

Issues:
I couldn't select path_corners except with a selection brush. Most other point entities were easy to select.
When selecting a subdirectory to search for entity models, the selected directory is searched, but the wrong dir name is displayed. One directory above alphabetically is displayed. For example, if I pick "quoth", "qonquer" will display.

Feature request: make clip brushes and similar types about 50% transparent to see what's going on behind.
User avatar
qbism
 
Posts: 1235
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:51 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby SleepwalkR » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:20 am

andrewj wrote:For releases you should provide a source zip -- downloading 64MB of git repository is a pain compared with a 10MB (pure guess) source package.


You're right. The repository contains 3 years of history, two rewrites, and a bunch of now useless binaries. Once I automate the release process, I will add a source dump to the downloads.

andrewj wrote:Anyway, congratulations on your 1.0 release, I can see a lot of work has gone into this program. I personally work on a cross-platform editor for a similarly ancient game (DOOM) and know that this can be a rather unexciting and thank-less space to work in.


I was very luck in that I found someone who constantly beta tested the editor and who gave me a lot of feedback, so it wasn't that thankless a process for me! Is your editor available somewhere?

qbism wrote:I couldn't select path_corners except with a selection brush. Most other point entities were easy to select.


Are you using a custom entity definition file or one of the builtin files?

qbism wrote:When selecting a subdirectory to search for entity models, the selected directory is searched, but the wrong dir name is displayed. One directory above alphabetically is displayed. For example, if I pick "quoth", "qonquer" will display.


I have seen that bug before and thought it was fixed. I have scheduled this for the next release.

qbism wrote:Feature request: make clip brushes and similar types about 50% transparent to see what's going on behind.


That's already on my todo list: https://github.com/kduske/TrenchBroom/issues/341

Thanks for the feedback!
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

TrenchBroom 1.0.2

Postby SleepwalkR » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:48 pm

Changes
- Fix issues with texture caching when removing wad files.
- Correctly display long spawnflag names.
- Improve clip plane guessing when less than 3 points are available.
- Fix crash when calling "Center Camera on Selection" when nothing is selected.
- (Hopefully) fix off by one issue in the list of mod directories in the map properties dialog.
- Add option to disable instanced rendering.

About the last issue: If the editor goes bonkers when you activate vertex mode, it failed to properly detect whether OpenGL instancing is supported by your driver. In this case, go to the preferences and choose "Force off" from the instancing mode dropdown list.
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby goldenboy » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:22 pm

I would test q3 .maps with this editor; I'm not a coder though and don't know the format itself too well.

Can I suggest looking at Hexen 2 support as well? If this editor supported H2, I would potentially want to actually map for it. The other alternatives (Quark?) for H2 mapping don't suit me at all. The lack of H2 map editors is a major reason why nobody maps for it.
User avatar
goldenboy
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:04 pm
Location: Kiel

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby ceriux » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:56 pm

OMG iv been waiting on this. i cant wait to try it downloading now!
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby SleepwalkR » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:04 pm

goldenboy wrote:I would test q3 .maps with this editor; I'm not a coder though and don't know the format itself too well.


Okay. I'll get back to you when I start on the Quake 3 support, but it'll be a while.

[quote="goldenboy"]Can I suggest looking at Hexen 2 support as well? If this editor supported H2, I would potentially want to actually map for it. The other alternatives (Quark?) for H2 mapping don't suit me at all. The lack of H2 map editors is a major reason why nobody maps for it.

Maybe ;-).
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby ceriux » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:15 pm

does this editor not have a compiler? i havent been able to find the compile option for my map. (iv made a quick test map)

but so far! im loving this more than i ever did worldcraft! amazing work! i love the 3d grid lines, i love how you can see all of the models directly in the editor. i love how smooth it is. it will take me a little bit to get more used to the controls. but i would say my only complaint is the copy/pasting. would be nice if i could just grab an existing object and drag it to a place id like it copied. the only way i could figure out how to copy was ctrl + keys. which pastest the object in a random near by location.
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby SleepwalkR » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:27 pm

ceriux wrote:does this editor not have a compiler? i havent been able to find the compile option for my map. (iv made a quick test map)


No, the editor doesn't come with builtin compilers. It's on my todo list, but it's not a high priority.

ceriux wrote:but so far! im loving this more than i ever did worldcraft! amazing work! i love the 3d grid lines, i love how you can see all of the models directly in the editor. i love how smooth it is. it will take me a little bit to get more used to the controls. but i would say my only complaint is the copy/pasting. would be nice if i could just grab an existing object and drag it to a place id like it copied. the only way i could figure out how to copy was ctrl + keys. which pastest the object in a random near by location.


You can hit Ctrl+D to duplicate the selection.
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby Dr. Shadowborg » Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:07 am

Crashes hard for me. The unhandled exception windows were blank, so heres what I took down from TrenchBroom's console before it died:

Code: Select all
unable to compile EntityModel.fragsh, compilation output was:
ERROR: 0:1:": Version Number not supported by GL2
ERROR: 0:31:'*': wrong operand types no operation '*' exists that takes a left-hand operand of type 'const int' and a right operand
ERROR: 0:31:'clamp': no matching overloaded function found
ERROR: 0:31:'assign': cannot convert from 'const float' to 'FragColor 4-component vector of float'


Something tells me that the Mobility Radeon X300 in my laptop is too outdated to run this. :/
User avatar
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:34 pm

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby SleepwalkR » Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:20 am

Dr. Shadowborg wrote:Something tells me that the Mobility Radeon X300 in my laptop is too outdated to run this. :/


Sorry, but yeah.
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Next

Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest