quake 1 bsp format classname question

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.
ingewanduh

quake 1 bsp format classname question

Post by ingewanduh »

if i open a .map file, i get all these classnames and stuff, is it possible to code in a .map file and create new classnames and have a input and output if and and system, for instance, i want to add like variables in a .map file, which i can change using a trigger, is that possible? and if so, how do you do it?

see, i want to have a door that opens when u destroy all the monsters, (that was easy) then i want to have a trigger in the door area (which is empty because the door opened) that will spawn other monsters, but i want the trigger to be inactive unless you walk onto another trigger, thats why i want a variable.

i am new to quake mapping and stuff, and if someone knows some good sites with tutorials on quake mapping, i would appreciate if u also posted them.
Qrv

Re: quake 1 bsp format classname question

Post by Qrv »

If I understand you correct, you want a door to open when all monsters killed, then when the player enters the door area, a bunch of monsters spawn?

If so, you dont even need to mess with the .map ( Assuming your creating the map in the first place. )

How I'd go about doing this, is setup my door, trigger it to open when monsters killed, you have this part down I think.
Then add a trigger brush, just the other side of the door ( IE, inside the new area the door opens into, meaning the player only hits this when they walk thru the doorway area ), and this brush would trigger the monsters spawning. Probably use a trigger_relay or two for multiple monster groups.

This way, the player kills all the monsters, your door opens. Because theres an extra trigger brush just the other side of the door, as soon as the player walks thru the doorway into the new area, a trigger_relay is called spawning in multiple monsters.