texture error

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.
Post Reply
sniperz227
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:19 am

texture error

Post by sniperz227 »

Hi i ran all my textures through tex mex and everthing they worked fine but when i applied one of my textures on a brush in my map i get an error when i take it off the map compiles fine any idea's?
Nahuel
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: mar del plata

Re: texture error

Post by Nahuel »

sniperz227 wrote:Hi i ran all my textures through tex mex and everthing they worked fine but when i applied one of my textures on a brush in my map i get an error when i take it off the map compiles fine any idea's?
I never used tex mex, try with Adquedit and Wally!
hi, I am nahuel, I love quake and qc.
Jukki
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:59 am

Post by Jukki »

and fimg :)
sniperz227
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:19 am

Re: texture error

Post by sniperz227 »

sniperz227 wrote:Hi i ran all my textures through tex mex and everthing they worked fine but when i applied one of my textures on a brush in my map i get an error when i take it off the map compiles fine any idea's?
hey yes that happen to me to till my friend told me something that made it work. first your wad can't have spaces like "blah blah.wad" it has to be one word and also the tga's inside the wad can't either mine was called "wood fence.tga" and i changed it to "wood_fence.tga" and it worked. also it has to be multiples of 1
LordHavoc
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: western Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: texture error

Post by LordHavoc »

Actually the size must be a multiple of 16, this is due to how software quake does lightmaps and mipmaps.

So 16x16 is the smallest acceptable texture, and other valid dimensions include 32 48 64 80 96 112 128 144 160 176 192 208 224 240 256 and so on... There is no need for a texture to be square, but both dimensions must individually be a multiple of 16.

Also you generally want to avoid use of the fullbright colors unless you mean them to be fullbright, so be careful when remapping textures to the quake palette, some tools will avoid use of fullbright colors and some will not (which may look okay in glquake but won't look right in software quake or darkplaces or fitzquake, etc).
metlslime
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:03 pm

Re: texture error

Post by metlslime »

LordHavoc wrote:So 16x16 is the smallest acceptable texture, and other valid dimensions include 32 48 64 80 96 112 128 144 160 176 192 208 224 240 256 and so on... There is no need for a texture to be square, but both dimensions must individually be a multiple of 16.
Also, powers of 2 will look best in any opengl or directx engine -- so limit yourself to 16, 32, 64, 128, 256 for best results.
LordHavoc
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: western Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: texture error

Post by LordHavoc »

metlslime wrote:
LordHavoc wrote:So 16x16 is the smallest acceptable texture, and other valid dimensions include 32 48 64 80 96 112 128 144 160 176 192 208 224 240 256 and so on... There is no need for a texture to be square, but both dimensions must individually be a multiple of 16.
Also, powers of 2 will look best in any opengl or directx engine -- so limit yourself to 16, 32, 64, 128, 256 for best results.
Except DarkPlaces on Windows or Linux, where non-power-of-two is fine, I use GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two except on Mac where it's often too crashy.
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Re: texture error

Post by mh »

DirectQ also supports non-power-of-two. Beware if you have a GeForce FX - you'll drop back to software emulation under OpenGL if use these texture sizes (it's supported in the driver but not in hardware).
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
LordHavoc
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: western Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: texture error

Post by LordHavoc »

mh wrote:DirectQ also supports non-power-of-two. Beware if you have a GeForce FX - you'll drop back to software emulation under OpenGL if use these texture sizes (it's supported in the driver but not in hardware).
Aside from Geforce FX, also watch out for Radeon X1600-X1850 on Mac OS X where the extension is reported but mipmapped repeating npot textures are not supported, also the case on Intel GMA 945. I've seen enough crash reports (even on cards that support them) to just blacklist the extension on Mac OS X entirely.

I've chosen kind of a weird test to detect the full featured extension - check for GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two and also get the value of GL_MAX_VERTEX_TEXTURE_IMAGE_UNITS and check if it's >= 1, this basically detects Geforce 6 (shader model 3) or Radeon HD (shader model 4), but not Radeon X1600 (which is almost full shader model 3 but not quite).

Note that on D3D9 the vertex texture image units is not 0 on Radeon X1600 because they emulate texture fetch using render to vertex buffer as needed.
Post Reply