Demos?

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.
Post Reply
Mexicouger
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 10:12 pm
Contact:

Demos?

Post by Mexicouger »

I am wondering how to recored a demo, as well as how to play a demo in the menu screen.
dreadlorde
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:20 am
Contact:

Post by dreadlorde »

record demoname map cdtrack, stop, playdemo demoname.
Ken Thompson wrote:One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code.
Get off my lawn!
MasterSplinter
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:00 pm

Re: Demos?

Post by MasterSplinter »

Mexicouger wrote:I am wondering how to recored a demo, as well as how to play a demo in the menu screen.
I've private messaged you this already, but then thought that others might find this useful too.

Demo and Capture:

Record Demo:
Record DemoName
Stop


Play Demo:
Playdemo DemoName

Demo Control Keys:
Pause:Pause
PageUp:Forward
PageUp pressed twice:Fast Forward
PageDown:Rewind
PageDown pressed twice:Fast Rewind

Capture Commands:
Capture_Start CapDemoName
Capture_Stop
CaptureDemo ExistingDemoName
Capture_Codec
Capture_Console
Capture_dir
Capture_fps
Capture_hack
Capture_mp3
Capture_mp3_kbps


Captured files land in a directory called capture within the root of your Quake directory. Default capturing format is .avi.

Things to consider:
File size of your captures
Resolutions to capture
Audio and Video (A/V) synchronization
Unwanted captured elements


Depending upon the workload and space your computer can handle, you might want to consider capturing in segments as opposed to capturing a whole lot at once. Lengthy A/V captures can eat up files space very quickly, and also lose it's synchronization. To save file space (and maybe increase fps), one might consider using a lower resolution outside of "full screen" mode. You can find these controls in the options menu.

Keep in mind, that when you are capturing video, all present video (including your drop down console and typing) is recorded too. At least that is my experience.
leileilol
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Post by leileilol »

if only more people read TECHINFO.TXT...
i should not be here
Mexicouger
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 10:12 pm
Contact:

Post by Mexicouger »

leileilol wrote:if only more people read TECHINFO.TXT...
Never seen that file in my life.
Anyways, thanks for the help!
Mexicouger
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 10:12 pm
Contact:

Post by Mexicouger »

How can I make the demos so they don't show the players viewmodel and stuff? I mean I can disable the cvar, But that would mean I would have to enable the cvar in multiple places and disable it in multiple places.

Just seems a bit hackish
Downsider
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:35 am

Post by Downsider »

Hide the viewmodel in QC when recording the demo?
Mexicouger
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 10:12 pm
Contact:

Post by Mexicouger »

*Facepalm*

Why did that fly by me..

if (cvar("map") == "demo")
hide stuff;
Post Reply