Lighting

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.
HaloBro35

Lighting

Post by HaloBro35 »

Hi, I'm new to mapping and I have a question. How do I control the lighting in my maps because I don't want to put torches everywhere since they don't give enough light and they don't match the textures of my map. Also how do i add fog. Thanks in advance guys.

Oh, and on more question. How do I add water to only part of the floor of my map? like a square floor with a river running through it that is pretty deep.
Spirit

Post by Spirit »

Read any generic mapping tutorial for Quake, Quake 2, Half-Life or any game like that. If possible one made for the editor you use.
Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
Dr. Shadowborg
InsideQC Staff

Post by Dr. Shadowborg »

If using worldcraft, see Map -> Map properties -> Ambient Light for generic level wide lighting. Also note that you do have more types of light entities than just walltorches. Note that when you have created a light entity, you can set it's strength and stuff as well by selecting the light entity, then right click, properties -> Brightness.

I dunno about fog.

As for water, you should be able to figure it out yourself, it's not that hard. :wink:
HaloBro35

Post by HaloBro35 »

Thanks for the lighting info guys. As for water, I just meant I wanted to make a river run through the floor of my map. I know all you have to do is apply the texture to it. I just wana know how I can make it deeper and all. Thanks in advance guys you are a big help.

Oh, and on the lighting issue. Is there some sort of light entity that doesn't show up as an item, like an entity that is invisible but gives off light? Also how do I make shadows?
Electro

Post by Electro »

The entity named "light" makes light. It'll calculate shadows (lightmaps) for it when you compile your map.
Benjamin Darling
http://www.bendarling.net/