Forum

The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Discuss the construction of maps and the tools to create maps for 3D games.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby ericw » Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:33 pm

There's a new release of TB1 with a few bug fixes:

Changes
- Fix crash during vertex manipulation (ericw)
- Fix vertex drift issue when copy/pasting (ericw)
- Fix for entity key/value corruption when renaming a key (ericw)
- Add checkbox to filter detail brushes (ericw)
- Work around modifier keys getting stuck (ericw)
- Fix for some valid wad files being rejected (ericw)


Download here.
ericw
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:11 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby JasonX » Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:35 pm

I'm dying to see OBJ export with proper material assign. :biggrin:
JasonX
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby drm_wayne » Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:00 am

I started using this editor just 2 days ago, and i already loving it :D
My workflow is already really fast, and i dont really miss the 2d views (i used Worldcraft for years). :D
I also love you dont need to work with "weird formats (RMF etc..)", and "Quake Adapter hacks" :D

There are some things which needs to be added / fixed imo:

- Sometimes the camera movement acts weird and jumps far away from the action.
- texture function "find and replace", this is something i really love in worldcraft.
- fit texture function like in worldcraft (usefull when creating stuff like cargo boxes, windows etc..)
User avatar
drm_wayne
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:47 pm

TrenchBroom 2.0.0 Beta 93e34bf

Postby SleepwalkR » Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:52 pm

Hey guys, I have released a public beta of TrenchBroom 2 today. You can get it at http://www.kristianduske.com/trenchbroom as usual.
SleepwalkR
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:42 am

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby toneddu2000 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:03 am

Great work SleepwalkR! A very nice revolution compared to all radiant-like editors! Compliments!

Just curious? Why not using a modern license like MIT or Apache? There are part of code that are tied to GPL Quake 1 Level editor?

EDIT: Would it be possible to extend it to q3bsp? Pleeeeeeeaaaase! I'd love that! :biggrin:
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby xaGe » Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:31 pm

Checkout the github page. Quake 3 support has been requested and it will take time to make its way into TrenchBroom 2, but some day...

toneddu2000 wrote:EDIT: Would it be possible to extend it to q3bsp? Pleeeeeeeaaaase! I'd love that! :biggrin:
User avatar
xaGe
 
Posts: 461
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:29 am
Location: Upstate, New York

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby toneddu2000 » Sun Jul 03, 2016 8:42 pm

Thanks xaGe for the link. I gues we'll wait a loong time for TB quake3 support..
By the way, I'm not so sure that only difference between quake1 and quake3 maps are only patches. Iirc there are lots of differences, from maxnumber of triangles per maps, to max bounds limits, to shaders support, but of course, it'd need that an engine programmer should talk instead of me! :biggrin:
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby ceriux » Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:48 pm

How would i go about applying a minimum darkness level to my map in trenchbroom?
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2200
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: The TrenchBroom Level Editor for Quake

Postby JasonX » Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:16 pm

toneddu2000 wrote:Thanks xaGe for the link. I gues we'll wait a loong time for TB quake3 support..
By the way, I'm not so sure that only difference between quake1 and quake3 maps are only patches. Iirc there are lots of differences, from maxnumber of triangles per maps, to max bounds limits, to shaders support, but of course, it'd need that an engine programmer should talk instead of me! :biggrin:


I think he's referring to MD3 support and shaders. That's though. The Quake3 MAP export feature shouldn't be hard.
JasonX
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:08 pm

Previous

Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest