Forum

Quake Expo 2011

Talk about the Quake Expo and Quake Speed events.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Postby goldenboy » Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:06 pm

You guys do know what a honeypot is, right?
User avatar
goldenboy
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:04 pm
Location: Kiel

Postby CocoT » Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:18 pm

Of course!

Image
Neurotic Conversions - New location: Update your bookmarks!
User avatar
CocoT
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Belly-Gum

Postby necros » Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:36 pm

is it intentional that anyone can edit anyone else's booth pages as long as they are logged in?
that seems kind of... not good.

i guess cause this is based on wiki format?
necros
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:32 pm

Postby negke » Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:01 pm

Kind of not good indeed. This should be fixed asap.
I hacked necros' booth for fun and to test this issue, and now it's listed under "my booths" too. Hope this doesn't create any problems on his end. Sorry mate.. :)
negke
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:53 pm

Postby Chip » Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:41 pm

Well, it had kind of a wiki component, but it was not supposed to be like that. Good thing it's just among us. I'm on it!

EDIT #1: ^ FIXED!
EDIT #2: necros's booth is his again!

EDIT #3: Preview link added after booth update!
EDIT #4: Description width is now 100%!
EDIT #4a: Ordered list looks fine in Firefox, Chrome and IE9!
QuakeWiki
getButterfly - WordPress Support Services
Roo Holidays

Fear not the dark, but what the dark hides.
User avatar
Chip
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby necros » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:39 pm

lol@neg

good job on fixing it so fast, chip :)
necros
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:32 pm

Postby negke » Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:41 pm

Ah, I think the problem was that I posted the internal link to the booth, not the official one (view.php vs. detail-view.php or similar). Thanks for taking care of it.

Another minor thing that's slightly misleading: the contact box mentions the number of booths the corresponding user has (why not list/link them there as well), but it says "# other booths added" even though it's supposed to be the total number (the czrrent one is included in the #).
negke
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:53 pm

Postby Chip » Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:34 pm

negke wrote:Ah, I think the problem was that I posted the internal link to the booth, not the official one (view.php vs. detail-view.php or similar). Thanks for taking care of it.

Another minor thing that's slightly misleading: the contact box mentions the number of booths the corresponding user has (why not list/link them there as well), but it says "# other booths added" even though it's supposed to be the total number (the czrrent one is included in the #).


Correct! I kept this one for the beginning of the QExpo. But taking into account there's one more day... I'll add the booths.
QuakeWiki
getButterfly - WordPress Support Services
Roo Holidays

Fear not the dark, but what the dark hides.
User avatar
Chip
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby negke » Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:56 pm

Wixen1: So, uh, my Q2C account still isn't approved even though it's now clear I'm not one of those spammers/troll users.
Okay, I take that back about the ugliness and all.... :roll:
negke
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:53 pm

Postby Wixen1 [Q2C] » Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:36 pm

negke wrote:Wixen1: So, uh, my Q2C account still isn't approved even though it's now clear I'm not one of those spammers/troll users.
Okay, I take that back about the ugliness and all.... :roll:

Negke;
It has nothing to do with the things you said about the ugliness, we all know about that!. :(
It is about your IP adress. When you have a clean IP, you are in, but as long as every one or another seems to be using your IP, it is no good, sorry!.
I have seen your work and all you have done for many years, and its all good, but as long as you use an IP which is hijacked/stolen we will need to wait. Hope you will understand this, thanks. :wink:
Also, you might want to fill out the sign-in fomular, with the necessary data correctly.

-W1
8)
The Quake 2 Café Admin

Image
User avatar
Wixen1 [Q2C]
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:53 am
Location: Denmark

Postby CocoT » Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:59 am

Oh, negke, you IP-terrorist... :roll: :wink:
Neurotic Conversions - New location: Update your bookmarks!
User avatar
CocoT
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Belly-Gum

Postby DrDire » Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:56 am

just wanted to say that i think its your loss for not allowing Negke access to your forum, the whole dirty IP thing seems ridiculous to me.

Way to go for making a small community even smaller by not allowing people who are actually interested in the subject matter, and talented as well, be blocked from it.

"oh no, he could be hijacked and post some spam on our precious message boards (with code and design from what seems like 15 years ago)"

just my opinion :twisted:
DrDire
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:22 pm

Postby Spirit » Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:12 am

That is problematic. The whole of Germany uses dynamic IP addresses that change every 24h or on reconnect. So even if he manages to register with a "clean" IP address he might come back later as evil hacker terrorist.

If you are worried about spam I would suggest installing something like Akismet instead.
Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
Spirit
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm

Postby Spike » Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:58 am

Most of europe use dynamic ips. Fixed ips cost extra, and are generally only available for the higher price tags.
Mail servers generally have fixed ips, so honeypots work fine there, but for home users? seriously?
Spike
 
Posts: 2853
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK

Postby revelator » Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:04 pm

not sure if its any help but denmark also use dynamic ip's a workaround i used often to not have to setup a redirect for my ftp server was going to one of the numerous sites that can snif your external ip adress.

once you get the ip number go into settings for your network card
and hit properties. now change the get ip adress automatically to use this ip adress and enter the ip you got in step one.

you also need to change the subnet mask to what your router uses mine is 255.255.255.0

and offcourse set the gateway adress to your routers (example 192.168.0.1) correct one should be in the papers for your router.

you should now have a fixed ip adress with the ip you got from that site.

it works here in denmark so it should work elsewhere but try it out.

P.s dont change ipv6 protocol only ipv4 is relevant.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

PreviousNext

Return to Quake Events

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest