interfacing to C++ for bot coding

Discuss Artificial Intelligence and Bot programming.
skelterjohn

interfacing to C++ for bot coding

Post by skelterjohn »

Hi all,

My question is how feasible is it to take a mod (specifically Battlemech - [url]http://static.condemned.com/bmech.shtml[/url]), and interface it to a C++ code base to do AI. I have a rather large C++ code base for adaptive learning algorithms (I am a grad student at Rutgers University in the Reinforcement Learning lab), and porting it all to .qc is not really an option.

Any tips? I don't have experience in hacking id engines, but I'm willing to put the effort in.

- John
Spike

Post by Spike »

edit pr_cmds.c
add some new builtins. there should be a list of em at the bottom.
index in that list is the builtin number its going to use.
use the G_* macros to read/write parameters, and return value.
How easy it is really depends on what existing interfaces you already have with your c++ code. Contexts might be tricky.
Labman

Post by Labman »

Tomaz's globot is an engine side bot written in C, so that might be a good place to start as well.

The Vr2 codebase has it, its not the original one as i've hacked around with it a bit, check out the bot.c, bot_*.c and bot.h files you can download the source and other stuff at entar's site http://entar.quakedev.com/

Also theres nn_main.c which contains an almost finished artificial neural network system for learning.
Wazat

Post by Wazat »

Note that he's pretty keen on having an engine that runs without problems in Linux (he and I have been talking by email). He's able to run Bmech's TomazQuake (the default engine) without problems, so I'm assuming TQ and related engines are are inherently linux compatible unless something has been done to break that compatibility.