Frikbots & Skins

Discuss Artificial Intelligence and Bot programming.
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

I'm sort of confused but I'll give it the old college try.
Thanks guys. 8)
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

I tried it. The bots are all black :(
Please take a look at the code, see if you can help. Thanks.

// FIXME: do teams properly
// note this has no effect on infokey
WriteByte(2, 92 ); // \
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 107); // k
WriteByte(2, 105); // i
WriteByte(2, 110); // n
WriteByte(2, 92); // \

if (self.b_num == 0)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 101); // e
}
else if (self.b_num == 1)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (self.b_num == 2)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}

WriteByte(2, 92); // \
WriteString( 2, who.netname);
};
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

BTW I did make the skin files foo.pcx, bar.pcx and put them in the QW/skins folder.
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
FrikaC
Site Admin
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:19 pm

Post by FrikaC »

1. that's only 3 out of 16 bot templates, look at bot_misc.qc's BotName function to see which b_num corresponds to which name/colors.

2. b_num has no 0, it's 1 thru 16, so you've only got 1 and 2 really implemented, that's 2 out of 16 bots.

3. It's actually who.b_num not self.b_num, I didn't convert it to the context of the function. (Gleaned from looking at the who.netname line)
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

Ok, I'll try it. Thanks.
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
Teiman
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:39 am

Post by Teiman »

Theres more than one way to skin a cat...

he.. ..frikbot.
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

Still all black, also I noticed the bots names do not appear in the scoreboard anymore. Anyway, here's what the code looks like now:

// FIXME: do teams properly
// note this has no effect on infokey
WriteByte(2, 92 ); // \
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 107); // k
WriteByte(2, 105); // i
WriteByte(2, 110); // n
WriteByte(2, 92); // \

if (who.b_num == 1)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 115); // s
WriteByte(2, 101); // e
}
else if (who.b_num == 2)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 3)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 4)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 5)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 6)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 7)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 8)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 9)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 10)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 11)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 12)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 13)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 14)
{
WriteByte(2, 102); // f
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
WriteByte(2, 111); // o
}
else if (who.b_num == 15)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
else if (who.b_num == 16)
{
WriteByte(2, 98); // b
WriteByte(2, 97); // a
WriteByte(2, 114); // r
}
WriteByte(2, 92); // \
WriteString( 2, who.netname);
};
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?......
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
Error
InsideQC Staff
Posts: 865
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 5:15 am
Location: VA, USA
Contact:

Post by Error »

I hated that damn movie :?
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

That was a classic!
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

So, can anyone help me with this???
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
FrikaC
Site Admin
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:19 pm

Post by FrikaC »

That should work. Are you sure those foo and bar pcx files you have are right size & format?
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

Yeah, the skins are good I've used them before. I just re-named them to foo, and bar.
Did you happen to test it yourself?
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

Weird.
I've been using FuhQuake as my client.
When I decided to try the regular Quakeworld client walla! It worked!
I had put the skin files in both C:\Fuhquake\QW\skins and C:\Quakeworld\QW\skins folders.
Shouldn't it work using the Fuhquake client as well?
Thanks for all the help.
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
redrum
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Long Island, New York

Post by redrum »

Another problem:
When clients connect to the server, they can't download the skins. Even when they try to force it by typing "skins" at the console?
They keep seeing the "base" skin. What gives?
Welcome to the Overlook Hotel: The-Overlook-Hotel.game-server.cc
Post Reply