Pedestrians and Patrons

Discuss Artificial Intelligence and Bot programming.
Blackstar1000

Pedestrians and Patrons

Post by Blackstar1000 »

I have been attempting to make a change in the AI for the knight. I have been unable to figure a solution for making a pedestrian-like character to inhabit the environments I have made ( think the peds in grand theft auto. ) and patrons/ customers( Fallout ) I want them to act neutral, not hostile. , maybe roam/ stand / or face you. Perhaps in a bar. And if you shoot a gun off in the area. Or at one of them. They all will attack. I'm still new to quake C, perhaps this is a lot to ask. But I could fumble around for months on my own or seek your advice.

Thanks!
Knives out. Catch the mouse. Squash his head. Put him in your mouth.
Electro

Post by Electro »

I'd look at seeing if you can do the easy stuff first, like stopping them from attacking. Have them just roaming around using path_corner and ignoring the player for starters. Then you can worry about doing things like once you're in range they turn to look at you.

Here's a tip :)

Look in fight.qc
In CheckAttack

There is:

Code: Select all

if (enemy_range == RANGE_MELEE)
See if you can get a start by playing around in there. RANGE_MELEE might be a good range already for them to look at the player. This function can also be the good place to stop them being hostile towards you.

Good luck!
Benjamin Darling
http://www.bendarling.net/

Reflex - In development competitive arena fps combining modern tech with the speed, precision and freedom of 90's shooters.
http://www.reflexfps.net/
Cobalt

Re:

Post by Cobalt »

What is path_corner doing anyway? Could bots also use it as supplimental navigation ?
Electro wrote:Have them just roaming around using path_corner and ignoring the player for starters. Then you can worry about doing things
like once you're in range they turn to look at you.
Good luck!
Cobalt

Re: Pedestrians and Patrons

Post by Cobalt »