Forum

VM bug bugging me plenty

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

VM bug bugging me plenty

Postby revelator » Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:23 pm

This is a somewhat old problem with my engine when playing rogue.

illegible server message service 80 last service fastupdate.

I have no idea what this refers to but id like it fixed if possible :S

The VM used is from bengt jardrups enhanced glquake which in turn seems to have been based on the VM from darkplaces.
Theres loads of bug checking code hooked up to pretty much any edict so im a bit stunned that it crashes with standard mission packs like rogue and hipnotic,
while it runs huge motherloads like marcher without any errors :shock:

Sadly im no guru in regards to QC so im really really lost on how to fix this :( i been trying for days now.

If someone can lend me hand getting this to work as it should i can finally release the source code for public consumption, well i could release it anyway but i would feel better not releasing something that does not quite work.
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: VM bug bugging me plenty

Postby Spike » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:04 pm

cl_shownet 2 might give you more info
Spike
 
Posts: 2881
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK

Re: VM bug bugging me plenty

Postby revelator » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:16 am

Might help me fix rogue thanks :) hipnotic hard crashes though so i doubt ill get any message before it goes boom.
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: VM bug bugging me plenty

Postby revelator » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:56 pm

Holy fucking hell :evil:

Code: Select all
      
                // don;t do * models (their data comes from the world)
      // the check here was wrong since it's inception, it was set to only allow '*' models and not the other way around Oo
      if(ISTURBTEX(mod->name))
      {
         continue;
      }


in two places of all things :shock: its been like that since i took over the code (not the code fragment above, thats the fixed version), well this was what caused the lightmapped water bug and also screwed me over in places where i had no idea this would be the culprit. I guess MH had a sleepy day when he wrote it :lol: .
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: VM bug bugging me plenty

Postby revelator » Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:54 pm

Ok got hipnotic running, but it turned out to be a bug in the code for the doors :shock:
At some point i implemented avirox rotating brush model support as pr the tutorial here,
but something seems to have gone amiss breaking hipnotic doors.
Not sure how hipnotic implements the func rotate on doors "bitfields ?" but now they go invisible when viewed front up,
and only a tiny part of the door is visible when vieved from the sides (opening mechanism) the door itself is completely invisible.

The rogue error is indeed a network error, still hunting that one.
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2527
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger


Return to Engine Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest