Forum

can the engine be modified so the player can ...

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

can the engine be modified so the player can ...

Postby hondobondo » Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:44 pm

move upside down?
I want to run through loops like this one:
Image
or is there already an engine that can do this? obviously the player speed must be modified in qc
hondobondo
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:48 am

Re: can the engine be modified so the player can ...

Postby Baker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:48 am

I wish. But the answer is no.

Would be an all-time killer feature.

The topic comes up from time to time often in the form of "it is possible to make a walk-on-walls mod, etc." or "walk on the ceiling".

FTE has some of the pre-cursors to handle some of the challenges involved, but AFAIK even with FTE is isn't even close to possible.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
User avatar
Baker
 
Posts: 3662
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: can the engine be modified so the player can ...

Postby Spike » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:32 am

try fte's 'spiderpig' console command some time.

logically any engine with tracebox could be tweaked to do it, but you'd have issues with player angles - yay csqc as a way around that.
it'd be a lot of work though.
if you wanted to do it properly, you'd need to use some sort of spring for velocities with conservation of momentum, rather than directly clipping the velocity and then falling away instantly.
Spike
 
Posts: 2881
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK

Re: can the engine be modified so the player can ...

Postby Baker » Sun Jun 19, 2016 5:13 am

Spike wrote:try fte's 'spiderpig' console command some time.


Simpsons Movie reference
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
User avatar
Baker
 
Posts: 3662
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: can the engine be modified so the player can ...

Postby frag.machine » Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:53 pm

IIRC the original Carmaggedon had at least one loop track like this.
I wonder if vectorial gravity would do the trick.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
User avatar
frag.machine
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm


Return to Engine Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest