Forum

Ambient light (dynamic) in FTEQW

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Re: Ambient light (dynamic) in FTEQW

Postby jjsullivan5196 » Wed Jun 24, 2015 4:58 am

Tone and Spoike, what I said before about -keeplights wasn't entirely true. It seems it's a switch that works exclusively in -onlyentities mode, although I feel it should work in the -meta phase, it doesn't seem to want to budge.

But anyway, if for whatever reason you still want to include rt lights directly in your map, just run a second -onlyentities compile (this is a phase switch that works on it's own, so add it as it's own entry in your build scripts/menu) and append -keeplights (no caps) and it will compile the entities INCLUDING lights.

EDIT: seems to work with nocaps in -meta, which is strange since it didn't do that for me before.
jjsullivan5196
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Ambient light (dynamic) in FTEQW

Postby toneddu2000 » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:16 pm

thanks jjsullivan5196, I'll try to use -keeplights (with no caps) when I go back home to my pc.
Anyway, to render bounce 8 1024 x1024 lightmaps, with 30 lights, final pass took 9 hours! :shock:

@Spike: did you have the time to see my error logs? I was curious why .renderflag crashes with bemode rtlight anotherglslfile header

Thanks
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Ambient light (dynamic) in FTEQW

Postby jjsullivan5196 » Wed Jun 24, 2015 10:05 pm

Hey tone, if you want to render your lightmaps faster you can always use a program like blender to do it externally. Blender will use your GPU to get radiosity and occlusion passes much faster than what q3map2 can do with the CPU alone.
jjsullivan5196
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:50 pm

Previous

Return to Engine Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest