Define Most Annoying Task?

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.
Baker

Define Most Annoying Task?

Post by Baker »

Around July of last year seeing all the different software renderer stuffs, I started mess with software renderers.

And it made me nostalgic for WinQuake and I started playing with it. And then I came up with a rather tedious idea of trying to merge my modified FitzQuake with a software renderer.

It was an astronomical amount of work. And tedium.

But it is WAY easier than parsing text. I swear. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Why does parsing text always have to be a category 5 nightmare? Even when you have a plan.

I saw my auto-complete code and after thinking about it works great, but was piles of spaghetti --- I decided to fix it once and for all, but scientifically dissecting it into about 8 components with each being blissfully agnostic about its purpose (no globals, purpose agnostic), and writing some new buffer size safe functions to handle it.

I wish I had that time back. :( Seems like text + C + buffer sizes + moderate text manipulation is always a license to get burnt. The end result ended up being exactly what I wanted (but no really worth it), but it takes a stupid length of time to handle every edge case and you always discover more of them as you go along.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
mankrip

Re: Define Most Annoying Task?

Post by mankrip »

For me, the absolutely most annoying task is to set up the tools (compilers, IDEs, editors, whatever). Doing so usually requires reading lots of documentation to figure out all of the different little things that needs to be set in all kinds of places, and that's annoying because I just want to get down to coding right away.