Forum

Something broke on my system, garbage in console at launch

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Something broke on my system, garbage in console at launch

Postby Spirit » Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:27 pm

Unfortunately I did not give it much attention when I first noticed it so I don't know what about my system changed. reQuiem gives me garbage like this on launch, playing maps works fine if I load them in the console, I cannot load them from the commandline. Any idea what might cause this? I am on Archlinux.

Other engines work fine. I tried with a clean Quake dir. Pak files are intact, no configs interfering.

[1d][1e][1e][1e][1e][1e][1e][1e] reQuiem Initialized [1e][1e][1e][1e][1e][1e][1e][1f]
execing quake.rc
execing default.cfg
Unknown command "}.[02]bin"
Unknown command "biL"
"SHIFTpee+speed" isn't a valid key
Unknown command "nd"
bind <key> [command] : attach a command to a key
bind <key> [command] : attach a command to a key
Unknown command "ave""
"PA" isn't a valid key
Unknown command "ause""
Unknown command "b"
Unknown command "="
Unknown command "/[02]bi}N[02]bind"
Unknown command "ind[02]bin2"
Unknown command "ga"
Unknown command "setsitivity"
Unknown command "}"
couldn't exec confg.cfg
Unknown command ".}[02]"
Unknown command "}}N[02]//"
Unknown command "[02]"
Unknown command "[02]"
Unknown command "}[01][02]"
Unknown command "}[02]"
Unknown command "}"
Unknown command "}"
Unknown command "}N[01]"
Unknown command "}"
Unknown command "}[02]"
Unknown command "}"
Unknown command "}[02]"
Unknown command "[02]"
Unknown command "}3"
Unknown command "}3"
Unknown command "}[02]"
Unknown command "}"
Unknown command "N[02]"
Unknown command "N[01][02]"
Unknown command "[01]N}N[01]NNN[01]NN[01][02]"
Unknown command "[01]NNNN[01][01][02]N"
Unknown command "NN[01][01][02][01][02]"
Unknown command "}[01][01][01][01]NNNN[01]NNNNNN[01]N[01]N[01]N[01]N[01]N[01]N[01]N[01]NN"
Unknown command "}[01][01]NN[01]"
Unknown command "[01]N[01][02]"
Unknown command "[02][01]N[01]"
Unknown command "[01]N[01][02]"
Unknown command "}N[01]"

Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
Spirit
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby Spike » Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:40 pm

looks like the console buffer is corrupt, hence the various commands getting spliced weirdly like that.
I've not looked at requiem, but if its cbuf was rewritten, try ensuring that there's a \n on the last line, and that there's no nulls mid-file or anything silly like that.
also, make sure its reading the default.cfg that you think it is.
Spike
 
Posts: 2908
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby Baker » Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:17 pm

Several different little possibilities.

Don't want to cause you to look for a problem that isn't there, but if this doesn't happen on Windows how are newlines being handled and are the files being read in text mode?

Windows terminates lines with /r/n (char 13, char 10) and Linux with just char 10.

(Generally I am of the opinion to neither read nor write files in text mode and just use binary mode manually adding newlines (/n) where appropriate so there is only one style of newlines regardless of the operating system. Then when you are reading them, look for the possibility of carriage returns (/r) and strip them since you cannot control what text editor or engine last touched a file.)
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
User avatar
Baker
 
Posts: 3666
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby frag.machine » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:08 am

I'd say either autoexec.cfg or config.cfg are corrupted. Maybe you opened one the files in some editor and accidentally changed the file encoding to/from ANSI to UTF-8 or something like that ?
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
User avatar
frag.machine
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby mankrip » Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:28 am

I got a similar error in the latest Dreamcast ports of Makaqu (Unknown command "amap" during initialization).
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh mankrip Hell's end wgah'nagl fhtagn.
==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==
Dev blog / Twitter / YouTube
User avatar
mankrip
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:02 am

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby Spirit » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:09 pm

I am 99% sure all files are intact, I checked with strace what it reads. Deleted all cfgs. The pak files have proper md5sums. It must be something in the whole system that changed. :?
Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
Spirit
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby Baker » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:50 pm

If you can point me to
1) the current source
2) a known source without the problem

I might be able to track down origin in mere minutes.

There aren't too many ways this problem could happen.

(Oh yeah, and any chance Quaddicted can allow http:// for download and not just https:// ... libcurl.dll for Quake engines doesn't support https. (Windows))
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
User avatar
Baker
 
Posts: 3666
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby mh » Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:40 am

It's not compiled for Unicode support by any chance?
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
User avatar
mh
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby Spirit » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:26 pm

If it was as easy as a code diff, I would have found it myself. The engine was not recompiled and all its versions I tried showed the same. I guess it must be some library?

These are used and were updated recently on my system:
Code: Select all
ld-2.21.so
libGL.so
libX11.so
libXdmcp.so
libXxf86vm.so
libasound.so
libc-2.21.so
libc.so
libdl-2.21.so
libdl.so
libgcc_s.so
libjpeg.so
libm-2.21.so
libm.so
libnss_dns-2.21.so
libnss_dns.so
libnss_files-2.21.so
libnss_files.so
libnvidia-glcore.so
libnvidia-tls.so
libpng12.so
libpthread-2.21.so
libpthread.so
libresolv-2.21.so
libresolv.so
librt-2.21.so
librt.so
libstdc++.so


Some obviously can't have anything to do with it but maybe one has encoding/unicode stuff?

PS: You can use (^Quakeinjector|^Java|DokuWiki HTTP Client) as user agent to avoid the http -> https redirection until I drop Dokuwiki and the QI gets a new release with SSL support. HTTPS is the future though.
Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
Spirit
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm

Re: Something broke on my system, garbage in console at laun

Postby Spirit » Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:29 pm

Oh look, I freshly compiled the engine now and it works. Huh! No big differences in strace.
Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
Spirit
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm


Return to Engine Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest