[SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.
toneddu2000
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by toneddu2000 »

Cccc.exe -> is a code analyzer used in C::B.
Lynx.exe -> is a console mode internet browser.
Ocaml -> is a scripting language much like python/perl.
Shell32 and Shell64.exe are just like the cygwin run.exe used for hiding the console from X (a lot of antivirus dont like this behaviour).
Mc.exe is a norton commander clone.
GPG error-> is part of gnupg used for some security operations.
xmlif -> is an xml tool.
Ok, thanks for the clarification, I'll send to Avira these files. Thanks again for the help reckless
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by revelator »

Your welcome :) got kaspersky to remove them from theres but it might pop up again if i update some of the packages (only added to heuristics as safe but if i update them the checksums wont match again so i will have to resubmit them to kaspersky). But atleast that should tell users that my package is safe to use.

Qbism uses it daily and newer had any problems with it either ;)
Productivity is a state of mind.
toneddu2000
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by toneddu2000 »

Qbism uses it daily and newer had any problems with it either ;)
Yes, infact I understood it because, just after the antivirus warning, nothing bad happened! :) So it was just the antivirus alarmism!
I did all that workaround to avoid continous warning

cheers
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
toneddu2000
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by toneddu2000 »

Ok, 64bit compilation on CodeBlock works fine. Now I would like to compile at 64bit even on Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 Express Edition. In reckless edition there's a .sln file but is too updated even for my 2010 release so I had to create my own.
I copied reckless .sln solution (modified for 2008 express versione of course)and I created this:

Code: Select all


Microsoft Visual Studio Solution File, Format Version 10.00
# Visual C++ Express 2008
Project("{8BC9CEB8-8B4A-11D0-8D11-00A0C91BC942}") = "quakespasm", "quakespasm.vcproj", "{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}"
EndProject
Global
	GlobalSection(SolutionConfigurationPlatforms) = preSolution
		Debug|Win32 = Debug|Win32
		Debug|x64 = Debug|x64
		Release|Win32 = Release|Win32
		Release|x64 = Release|x64
	EndGlobalSection
	GlobalSection(ProjectConfigurationPlatforms) = postSolution
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Debug|Win32.ActiveCfg = Debug|Win32
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Debug|Win32.Build.0 = Debug|Win32
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Debug|x64.ActiveCfg = Debug|x64
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Debug|x64.Build.0 = Debug|x64
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Release|Win32.ActiveCfg = Release|Win32
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Release|Win32.Build.0 = Release|Win32
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Release|x64.ActiveCfg = Release|x64
		{C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A}.Release|x64.Build.0 = Release|x64
	EndGlobalSection
	GlobalSection(SolutionProperties) = preSolution
		HideSolutionNode = FALSE
	EndGlobalSection
EndGlobal

<<By the way, I don't understand what's the ID code C0F747A3-D796-4EC0-BF2A-53722CAA3B6A>>

I checked at the .vcxproj file of the reckless solution and it appears similar to the .vcproj (the 2008 version)file of mine. It includes static 64 libs
This is mine

Code: Select all

<Configuration
			Name="Release|x64"
			OutputDirectory="$(SolutionDir)$(PlatformName)\$(ConfigurationName)"
			IntermediateDirectory="$(PlatformName)\$(ConfigurationName)"
			ConfigurationType="1"
			CharacterSet="0"
			WholeProgramOptimization="1"
			>
			<Tool
				Name="VCPreBuildEventTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCCustomBuildTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCXMLDataGeneratorTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCMIDLTool"
				TargetEnvironment="3"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCCLCompilerTool"
				Optimization="2"
				EnableIntrinsicFunctions="true"
				AdditionalIncludeDirectories="C:\SDL\include;..\codecs\include;..\..\Quake;.;.."
				PreprocessorDefinitions="WIN32;NDEBUG;_WINDOWS;_USE_WINSOCK2;_CRT_NONSTDC_NO_DEPRECATE;_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS;USE_QS_CONBACK;USE_CODEC_MP3;USE_CODEC_VORBIS;USE_CODEC_WAVE"
				RuntimeLibrary="2"
				EnableFunctionLevelLinking="true"
				UsePrecompiledHeader="0"
				WarningLevel="3"
				DebugInformationFormat="3"
				CompileAs="1"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCManagedResourceCompilerTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCResourceCompilerTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCPreLinkEventTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCLinkerTool"
				AdditionalDependencies="libvorbisfile.lib libvorbis.lib libogg.lib libmad.lib WS2_32.lib OPENGL32.lib winmm.lib SDL.lib SDLmain.lib"
				LinkIncremental="1"
				AdditionalLibraryDirectories="..\codecs\x64;C:\SDL\lib64"
				GenerateDebugInformation="true"
				SubSystem="2"
				OptimizeReferences="2"
				EnableCOMDATFolding="2"
				TargetMachine="17"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCALinkTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCManifestTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCXDCMakeTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCBscMakeTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCFxCopTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCAppVerifierTool"
			/>
			<Tool
				Name="VCPostBuildEventTool"
			/>
		</Configuration>
But when I fire MSVS the arrow near the 64bit Debug/Release project is gray and if I recompile it says:
Compilation:0 completed or updated,0 uncompleted, 1 ignored
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by revelator »

2008 needs some extra packages from microsoft for 64 bit compilation :) the solution file from mine is for msvc 2012 btw.
Productivity is a state of mind.
toneddu2000
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by toneddu2000 »

Ah. Can you please tell which one extra packages?
the solution file from mine is for msvc 2012 btw.
But can I use it with msvc 2012 Express version?
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
qbism
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by qbism »

reckless wrote:Your welcome :) got kaspersky to remove them from theres but it might pop up again if i update some of the packages (only added to heuristics as safe but if i update them the checksums wont match again so i will have to resubmit them to kaspersky). But atleast that should tell users that my package is safe to use.

Qbism uses it daily and newer had any problems with it either ;)
BTW, I just use MS Security Essentials for antivirus. It has not thrown any warnings for mingw or codeblocks. No prob if I can avoid installing toolbars.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by revelator »

ms antivirus is pretty barebones but quite ok coupled with spywareblaster and a decent firewall like komodos :)
kaspersky goes to extremes sometimes and even disregards excluded folders if its heuristics pick up something that accesses memory (which a lot of compilers do) so i usually turn it off when building.

I just uploaded the compiler as an installer also for those not savy with making shortcuts to all the tools btw :)
its pretty non intrusive and does not change any system settings (the package is portable by nature) you can even run it from a USB stick if you want to.
The installer defaults to C:\CodeBlocks and cannot be changed because win 7 has protected folders like C:\ProgramFiles you would get access errors trying to compile from there.
MinGW also has problem with PATHS that have spaces in them unless you use quotes in the PATH and its a bit hairy setting that up.
It works right out of the box with the default PATH though :).
Productivity is a state of mind.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: [SOLVED] QuakeSpasm compile problem

Post by revelator »

1.Control Panel -> Uninstall Programs.
2.Select Visual Studio and click Uninstall/Change.
3.Wait. Wait some more. Click Next.
4.Choose Add or Remove Features.
5.Expand MSVC 2008 -> Language Tools -> Visual C++.
6.Select X64 Compilers and Tools.

;)

the x64 tools are not installed by default for 2008.

also get the win7sdk :)
Productivity is a state of mind.
Post Reply