Targeting 64-bit

Discuss programming topics for the various GPL'd game engine sources.
Baker

Targeting 64-bit

Post by Baker »

Based on examination of the Quore engine (a modified Qrack Linux engine which has a 64-bit Linux compile) and some looking over Quakespasm, I know for certain that the following files need worked over.

host_cmd.c
pr_cmds.c
pr_edict.c
pr_exec.c
progs.h
sv_main.c

I'm no expert of 64-bit, but my understanding is that the pointers for the progs interpreter use signed int and this is why the progs interpreter is particularly problematic going from 32 bit to 64 bit. (Then again, I could be all wrong).

Either way I've implemented many of the Quore/Quakespasm changes.

I'm burying this info here for future use and/or maybe discussion. I likely won't be acting on any of it at a minimum of a couple of days but more than likely a couple of weeks. But I want to document the changes that are required.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
mh

Post by mh »

The alias model stuff needs working over too as it stores data as offsets from the start of the header. The only real reason for this is to allow the model to be moved from hunk memory to cache memory, and to allow it to be moved around in cache memory if required. It might be simpler to just get rid of cache memory and store pointers directly. The downside is that MDLs would now need to be reloaded and converted to compatible commands each map load, but it's not 1996 any more and that shouldn't pose too much of a problem for a reasonably modern PC.

Rearchitecting cache memory to avoid the crappiness is another option that gets you the best of both but it's obviously a lot more work.