Using IQM? [Darkplaces]

Discuss programming in the QuakeC language.
Mexicouger

Using IQM? [Darkplaces]

Post by Mexicouger »

Alright I would really appreciate help in this department... I have been wanting to use iqm models for a very long time now, and for the life of me, I can't figure it out.
I don't even know where to start to spawn a model in QC using IQM.. Nor do I know how to control or identify bones.
Also, I would like to know how to use bones in Blender and have them be usable in Darkplaces.

I hope I'm not asking too much, but I am a complete noob when it comes to any model format that ISN'T mdl. Thanks guys!
leileilol

Re: Using IQM? [Darkplaces]

Post by leileilol »

Just use it.

setmodel(fart,"models/poogas.iqm");

YOU'RE USING AN IQM

Obligatory often-neglected QSG note:

Don't forget to check for the IQM extension so you can optionally use the IQM for engines that support it, having a fallback for engines that don't.
i should not be here
Spike

Post by Spike »

wait, there's an qsg extension to be checked?
Mexicouger

Post by Mexicouger »

I loaded an IQM in darkplaces, and I got an error message. It says only version 0 models are supported. What does that mean?
leileilol

Post by leileilol »

It means your darkplaces build is too old. IQM is up to version 2 right now and DP should support it.
i should not be here
toneddu2000

Post by toneddu2000 »

leileilol wrote:It means your darkplaces build is too old. IQM is up to version 2 right now and DP should support it.
I confirm. DP supports IQM version 2. I use it
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
Mexicouger

Post by Mexicouger »

I could be wrong, but I am pretty sure I downloaded the Darkplaces 6 hour autobuild. I will redownload and try again. I may have gotten it mixed up with the stable darkplaces which may be old.
toneddu2000

Post by toneddu2000 »

blender 2.49 or 2.6x?
Mexicouger

Post by Mexicouger »

toneddu2000

Post by toneddu2000 »