Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Discuss programming in the QuakeC language.
Post Reply
dr_mabuse
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:07 pm

Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by dr_mabuse »

Hi,

Maybe you know the Quake mod "Quake Arena Arcade" on the PSP, and if you press Singleplayer you will be redirected to deathmatch with 6 bots connected, and after 10 (or 20) frags it goes to the nex (or random) deathmatch map and it looks like it is done in qc...
Can anybody tell me how they did that? The QC that comes with the mod is not the Quake Arena source, it is still the unmodified v1.06 QC...

Thanks ;)
ceriux
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by ceriux »

instead of using an impulse to add the bots create a spawn?
Ghost_Fang
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:37 am

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by Ghost_Fang »

check the autoexec.cfg
Baker
Posts: 3666
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by Baker »

dr_mabuse wrote: Maybe you know the Quake mod "Quake Arena Arcade" on the PSP
If you are going to reference a mod in a help question, please provided a link to it. It might be easy to determine or hard. But for sure if someone can't easily locate the mod ....
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
dr_mabuse
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by dr_mabuse »

oh sorry, forgot the link xD

http://forums.qj.net/psp-development-fo ... de-r4.html

It looks like its based on the Kurok engine...
Baker
Posts: 3666
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by Baker »

dr_mabuse wrote:oh sorry, forgot the link xD

http://forums.qj.net/psp-development-fo ... de-r4.html

It looks like its based on the Kurok engine...
Doesn't seem like the download links on that page work :( But I'm kind of curious myself.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
Max_Salivan
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:00 pm

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by Max_Salivan »

i have src of this mod)
Sorry for my english :)
dr_mabuse
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by dr_mabuse »

can you look how they did that?
I think its done via client.qc with some stuffcmds, but i may wrong.
DusterdooSmock
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:58 pm

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by DusterdooSmock »

Off the top of my head, this is similar to how I would attempt to do it through QuakeC..

Code: Select all

float num_bots;	//The number of bots that were added to the game.
float bot_add; //The time the game waits before adding another bot.

void() setup_singleplayer_deathmatch = 
{
	localcmd("deathmatch 1\n"); //Tells the game that you are now playing a deathmatch game.
	localcmd("maxclients 6\n"); //I think it was maxclients.. Set to 6 if you want yourself vs 5 bots.
	
	bot_add_cycle();
};

void() bot_add_cycle = 
{
	while(num_bots < 5)
	{
		if(bot_add < time)
		{
			//Add bots here. What functions to call would depend on the bots that you are using..
			num_bots = (num_bots + 1);
			bot_add = (time + 2); //Wait 2 seconds before adding another bot.
		}
	}
};
Max_Salivan
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:00 pm

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by Max_Salivan »

dr_mabuse wrote:can you look how they did that?
I think its done via client.qc with some stuffcmds, but i may wrong.
there actually put the order of levels and each level is written the number of bots and limit frags
transition from the level at a level not randomly
Sorry for my english :)
dr_mabuse
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: Select Singleplayer starts deathmatch with 5 bots?

Post by dr_mabuse »

thanks for the tipps guys.
i will try to put this into my own personal psp quake i made 2 months ago (just a normal quake based on qcv1.06, with bots added, better weaponmodels and TONS of multiplayer maps)..
I mostly play Quake in classic deathmatch with frikbots, and they are a real challenge xD
ATM it looks like this:

Image
Image

HUD is from Bakers Engine X :)
Post Reply