An .TGA issue (DP+CSQC)

Discuss CSQC related programming.
Post Reply
ckopo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:56 pm

An .TGA issue (DP+CSQC)

Post by ckopo »

//in advance, excuse me for my not so good English.//

Good daytime everyone.

I couldn't find a suitable forum to post these graphic issues, so I gonna post it here.

I'm now working on a 'menu.dat' for a Russian Quake translation.
It's all working for a while, but there's a pesky graphic problem.

In a nutshell: white border.
Image
These are two little placeholders drawn in Paint.NET, combined into a slider.
But, oh, there shouldn't be any white fringe!
I've tried to turn off RLE compression, but it's still here.

And the most nasty part of it is that other .TGA' display without it.

Any ideas for it?

CASE SOLVED (thanks to jitspoe)
Just fill transparent pixels with RGBA = {0,0,0,0}. Though it makes a dark border instead, but it's better than white one for these textures.
Homework: try making a transparent texture without any problem borders.
Last edited by ckopo on Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Look, your R is now Я.
Spirit
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 9:00 pm
Contact:

Re: An .TGA issue (DP+CSQC)

Post by Spirit »

RLE is lossless so that would be irrelevant.

I assume the white borders show up in your engine? What is it supposed to look like? Can you share the original file? The screenshot/image is tiny.
Improve Quaddicted, send me a pull request: https://github.com/SpiritQuaddicted/Quaddicted-reviews
jitspoe
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 5:27 am

Re: An .TGA issue (DP+CSQC)

Post by jitspoe »

The transparent pixels are probably being stored as white: RGBA = 255,255,255,0. This means, when linear filtering is applied to the image, that white starts to creep into the pixels that have alpha. If you can edit the channels separately, make sure the stuff alpha'd out is about the same color as what's visible.
Nahuel
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: mar del plata

Re: An .TGA issue (DP+CSQC)

Post by Nahuel »

you have this function to draw a pic

Code: Select all

float	drawpic(vector position, string pic, vector size, vector rgb, float alpha, float flag) = #456;
just try with different values for "float flag"
hi, I am nahuel, I love quake and qc.
ckopo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:56 pm

Re: An .TGA issue (DP+CSQC)

Post by ckopo »

jitspoe wrote:The transparent pixels are probably being stored as white: RGBA = 255,255,255,0. This means, when linear filtering is applied to the image, that white starts to creep into the pixels that have alpha. If you can edit the channels separately, make sure the stuff alpha'd out is about the same color as what's visible.
After I'd read that, I tried to fill empty areas in my pictures with RGBA {0,0,0,0}.
It worked, now these white pixels are no more. :D Thank you very much.
Look, your R is now Я.
Post Reply