Forum

Page 1 of 1

player model size?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:43 am
by ceriux
okay so i been busting my ass on this player model ive been working on and finally test it in game... hes too big! in max i made a box that was a length of 64 a width of 32 and a height of 32. which equates to something like this..

Image

i assumed this would be about the size of the player model in quake. i was wrong its probably double the size! as seen below!

Image

as you can see hes probably more the size of the shambler..

if i were to scale him down in QME does anyone know by which amount would probably be correct?

Re: player model size?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:21 am
by Spike
should normally be +/ 16 in the x+y axes.
z should descend 24 units below the origin and 32 above.
really its just the -z one that needs to match exactly (so that your guy will stand on the ground properly), the others can have a decent amount of slop with no serious issues.

QME should report these sizes somewhere, with units in actual QU, so just check what qme says and scale/move accordingly.

Re: player model size?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:30 am
by ceriux
thanks spike , in qme i changed the 1 in the scale options to .5 this is what i got...

Image

it seems to be much better. i might add a decimal of scale. as for those numbers you gave me. that will help a lot! ill be sure to use those on future models.
it will save me re-scaling everything.

edit: actually i tested in multiplayer and that was WAY too small . after testing again the size i have my player model is just about right,
i think i had to change the scale 1 to scale .9 in x y and z.
however what was giving me the weird giant affect is that he was floating! so i changed the "eye position" of the models properties in qme to that of the standard quake guys " x -6 , y 0, z -24 " and this was the true fix! figured id update and post it here incase anyone else has similar issues in the future.

Image

Re: player model size?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:39 pm
by frag.machine
player height = 56 qu. Don't know how it will translate to blender tho.
You can always open the original player.mdl and your replacement in QuArK or QME and visually compare.

Re: player model size?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:48 pm
by Spike
quake's scale is just generally wrong - everything is larger on the x+y axis than the z axis, which makes getting things scaled properly quite awkward (hence why later games used a total height of 72 instead of 56).
so yes, next to a grunt your player model will look like a stick figure.

you can get away with making the model taller than 56qu, but be aware that the player hull won't change sizes. a taller model's head will pass through walls when walking through small passageways (assuming the floor is aligned properly such that their feet are not going through too).
its rare to have passageways <64, but I wouldn't personally risk making a player model taller than that (ignoring multiplayer and attempts at headshots, obviously).
monsters are a different matter - mappers are more able to control the areas that such over-tall monsters can be found, so its much less of a problem for those models.

but yeah, ultimately, quake models should be a bit bulky if they're to feel at home alongside the existing models.

Re: player model size?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:04 pm
by Madfox
First time I added a model to Quake it turned backwards.
What size measure assumes I take my benefit on Quark4.07.
It has degrees to relate to and make positioning a lot easier.

Qmle is rather hard to obtain as there is only a ground grid.
And although positioning in Quark is a bit kinky,
it's easier to pick up clipnodes.

Fun model ceriux.

Image
Image

:cool: