Forum

Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Postby JasonX » Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:54 am

I'm working on some new models for Q1 and i ended up having some questions about the MDL format. I'm using this as a base: http://tfc.duke.free.fr/coding/mdl-specs-en.html

  • The spec says that the format supports multiple textures. Does this mean that i can use one texture for hands and another for gun, for example? Or maybe one for head and another for torso?
  • What's the Quake player scale equivalent in Blender units?
  • Which way is up and which way is forward?
  • What is everyone using to compile MDL? I'm exporting to MD3 and using qwalk: http://www.icculus.org/qshed/qwalk/
JasonX
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Postby Spike » Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:14 am

multiple skins, single texture, single surface. if you want multiple surfaces/textures you'll need md3 or iqm.
player is 56 units high (bbox of -16 -16 -24 to '16 16 32', firing position at +16, view/eye position at +22).
up = +z. forward = +x. doesn't really mean that blender will display those same axis (exporters will typically translate stuff like that).
I don't export to mdl, although I'm somewhat tempted to update my iqm exporter to spit out mdl+md3 files instead. iirc taniwha made an mdl exporter for blender but I've no experience of it.
Spike
 
Posts: 2853
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK

Re: Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Postby ericw » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:10 pm

Preach also has some tools:
https://tomeofpreach.wordpress.com/md3tomdl/
https://tomeofpreach.wordpress.com/qmdl/ -- python module for working with mdl
ericw
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Postby JasonX » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:32 pm

Thanks a lot for the help, guys. Another question: can a texture be 128x256 or 256x128, for example?
JasonX
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Postby ceriux » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:16 am

Yeah i believe they can.
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Questions on Quake 1 MDL

Postby Madfox » Sat Aug 26, 2017 11:11 pm

Maximum skin size = height 300 width varies..

I found height 280 the best limit.
For the size it seems 1000vertices 2000 triangles are maximum.
I use a comercial Animation Studio to make animations.
Then import and the 3ds in Qmle.
It chooses it own skin size.

Another good model studio for Quake1 is q2mdlr9b.
It's also compatible with q2 models, so good for converting.
http://www.quaketastic.com/files/q2mdlr9b-alsoq1.zip
User avatar
Madfox
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Holland


Return to Modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest