Forum

TGA models?

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

TGA models?

Postby franqutrass » Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:37 am

Hello!, I want to know how can I use TGA images as models in quake 2, i've seen this kind of "modeling" in RetroBlazer, but thats quake 1, so I need this but for quake 2.
hello
User avatar
franqutrass
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: peru

Re: TGA models?

Postby leileilol » Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:44 am

What Retroblazer does is use .spr files, then use TGA images for those sprites as high resolution texture replacements.

You could do this in Quake2 if your renderer did the same for supporting TGA loading over PCX files.
i should not be here
leileilol
 
Posts: 2783
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:23 am

Re: TGA models?

Postby SimplySerenity » Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:26 pm

leileilol wrote:What Retroblazer does is use .spr files, then use TGA images for those sprites as high resolution texture replacements.

You could do this in Quake2 if your renderer did the same for supporting TGA loading over PCX files.

Can their be animations with this way as well? I like the way it's done, but I'd rather have animations as well.
SimplySerenity
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:03 am

Re: TGA models?

Postby Seven » Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:58 pm

As far as I know, you can do frame animations with sprites and if your engine supports replacement textures,
you can then use the higher res textures for the sprites.

Engine support for interpolation between your single sprite animation frames will most likely not exist.
Without interpolation it will look not fluent. You´d have to make your frame steps very small.

You can see some game mods that still uses sprite monsters (the ones from Hexen, Heretic, etc).
Be aware that sprites are flat and I dont know if directional sprites are supported by Quake engines.

The only sprites, that are still left in vanilla Quake are the explosions and air bubbles.
And at least the explosions are animated too.
So yes, generally speaking, sprites can be "animated", if you want to call it this way.

There are also other threads with this topic in this forum...
Seven
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: TGA models?

Postby SimplySerenity » Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:03 pm

Oh sorry, I didn't know there were other threads about this. >.< Thanks for the info Seven.
SimplySerenity
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:03 am

Re: TGA models?

Postby goldenboy » Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:33 pm

IIRC Quake 1 does support directional sprites, try opening them in Fimg2 and there should be various settings available regarding the sprite's behaviour.
User avatar
goldenboy
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:04 pm
Location: Kiel

Re: TGA models?

Postby r00k » Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:26 am

This is pretty much what I do for simPle items using a sprite as a place holder and a hires image to be used in game
r00k
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:39 pm


Return to Modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest