Forum

"Alias Model"

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

"Alias Model"

Postby Baker » Mon May 09, 2011 3:47 pm

Why in the Quake source code are q1 models referred to as "alias models"?

Just curious as to the origin of the name, what it meant or why it was termed that way.
The night is young. How else can I annoy the world before sunsrise? 8) Inquisitive minds want to know ! And if they don't -- well like that ever has stopped me before ..
User avatar
Baker
 
Posts: 3666
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:15 am

Postby c0burn » Mon May 09, 2011 4:04 pm

The models were made in Alias PowerAnimator (now aquired by Autodesk of 3DS Max fame)
c0burn
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:48 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Postby toneddu2000 » Mon May 09, 2011 6:28 pm

Power Animator became Maya (for the cg part) and Studio Tools (for the CAD/CAM drawing part)in late 90s (1997 IIRC)
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Postby andrewj » Tue May 10, 2011 3:57 am

c0burn wrote:The models were made in Alias PowerAnimator

Interesting 8)
andrewj
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Australia


Return to Modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest