Forum

simplifying mdl model (quake portal gun)

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Postby Error » Tue May 17, 2011 5:23 pm

You need to get rid of your fullbrights in your texture, otherwise it'll make if look like shit in the dark. Good work otherwise. Or is that just for the lightning bits?
User avatar
Error
InsideQC Staff
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 5:15 am
Location: VA, USA

Postby siska.robert » Tue May 17, 2011 6:34 pm

The brites *should* be only on the lightning bolt. I'm not really sure, though!
User avatar
siska.robert
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Error » Tue May 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Just checking, I glanced at the skin and noticed the brights were there. You're right, they should be on the lightning bolt part.
User avatar
Error
InsideQC Staff
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 5:15 am
Location: VA, USA

Postby toneddu2000 » Wed May 18, 2011 7:52 pm

I put the model in game and I noticed some black areas near the welding of the metal arms(Fig1). Just a question: do you alter the uv coordinates in the mdl export process? Because, if I override the texture in darkplaces with v_portal.mdl_0.tga the coordinates are completely scrambled (Fig2).
For Fullbright support:
I've no experience with normal quake engine but with nexuiz/xonotic (so darkplaces engine too) I created a model once with a completely black _glow.tga and just the overbright parts coloured
In this model, if I override the textured with v_portal.mdl_0_glow.tga, nothing happens.

During this week end, I'll try to find out the solution.
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Postby siska.robert » Wed May 18, 2011 10:26 pm

Oops! I didn't notice that at all!

This is normal quake MDL. There are no glow maps whatsoever. I just used that normal colored texture (changed it to 200x200 for dosquake) and that's it.

What caused that black spots AND that second problem is, that I merged gun model with BOLT1.MDL from pak0 in qME.
I this is how it got merged:

http://imagebin.org/153926

I think we have to add some bolts right to the blender file before exporting to MDL...
User avatar
siska.robert
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:51 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Madfox » Fri May 27, 2011 1:49 am

Hey Siska..,

had a rough scetch, decided to replace the 24not cirkel by a 8not,
remodelled a bit and had this outcome.
Replacing resulted to a 925 tris and 3027 verts one.
I don't know if I could tighten things further, but from a far vieuw of point it has something of the valvegun.

Image

So I could shorten up 689 tris, but had to count 3 verts in.
Anyway I was answering a 4may post , hadn't seen the others.
mayday

:wink:
User avatar
Madfox
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Holland

Previous

Return to Modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest