Transparent texture?

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.
Karall

Transparent texture?

Post by Karall »

Alright, so I want to make a plant right?
Pretty simple, just make two square planes in a cross and apply a texture. Altho for it not to look weird, were theres nothing on the texture I want it to be transparent. So for example i have some leaves on a white background. How would i make that white transparent? I use Darkplaces.
ceriux

Post by ceriux »

check out external tga support and how to use alpha channels
frag.machine

Post by frag.machine »

In unmodified Quake/GlQuake engines, there's no support to transparent colors in .mdl. Besides the usual Darkplaces/FTE indications, the RMQ engine (developed and maintained by mh) does support transparency to .bsp models (not sure about .mdl though, better to ask mh directly), and I remember the Kurok engine having this exactly to implement vegetation (a simple engine change was required and there's a thread where mh showed how to do that - use the forum search if you want to get your hands dirty in engine coding :) ).

If you're not targeting a modified engine, it's possible to emulate what you want with 2 entities and 2 sprites (sprites do support color index 255 as transparency). Basically, spawn both entities in the same coordinates but having a 90 degrees offset in the .angles_y and here is your plant/bush.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
mh

Post by mh »

There hasn't been a requirement for having this on MDLs in RMQ yet so it doesn't support it. I'd personally run with the two sprites idea if only for one drawback - sprites are always drawn fullbright.