Forum

Combine objects in MD3

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Combine objects in MD3

Postby Downsider » Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:16 pm

So, with extreme joy, I exported my model from 3ds Max 10 as an MD3, imported it into Quark, exported it as an MDL, and to my dismay, only the first object was exported.

Now, I got it working when I was using Milkshape the other day, where I would just group each object and it would be considered one whole object. However, Milkshape's MD3 importer doesn't support animations. Is there any way to join objects in Quark?
User avatar
Downsider
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:35 am

Postby ceriux » Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:37 am

you can do it in 3ds just attach all of the objects together.

select object > right click > attach > click main object > repeat.
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2226
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Postby Downsider » Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:43 am

ceriux wrote:you can do it in 3ds just attach all of the objects together.

select object > right click > attach > click main object > repeat.


Ruins my animation.
User avatar
Downsider
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:35 am

Postby ceriux » Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:48 am

oh yeah thats right... ok minus my post anyone else?
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2226
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Postby Downsider » Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:57 am

ceriux wrote:oh yeah thats right... ok minus my post anyone else?


You can't do it in Quark? Or get a correctly importing MD3 plugin? D:
User avatar
Downsider
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:35 am

Postby Downsider » Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:55 pm

Got it! Used Misfit Model 3D to combine the objects.

If anybody wants to know how to get from 3ds Max 2010 to Quake MDL format without losing animation or uvmapping, just ask ;)
User avatar
Downsider
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:35 am

Postby ceriux » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:39 pm

you should write a tutorial Downsider, although id change your work flow to attach all the groupings in max before you animate and uv.

(just to cut out extra tools)
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2226
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Postby Downsider » Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:40 am

ceriux wrote:you should write a tutorial Downsider, although id change your work flow to attach all the groupings in max before you animate and uv.

(just to cut out extra tools)


No clue if that's possible, 3ds Max uses some proprietary grouping mechanism that doesn't actually group them in the normal sense.
User avatar
Downsider
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:35 am


Return to Modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest