Forum

blender question

Discuss the creation of various model formats for Quake engines, and related matters to modeling.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

blender question

Postby ceriux » Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:52 pm

i know theres a mdl export tool but has it been updated? i've been learning blender 2.8 was curious if there was an updated export tool that i could mess around with.
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: blender question

Postby frag.machine » Mon Jun 17, 2019 1:39 pm

I don't know if anyone is keeping those plugins up to date (never used Blender), but in your place I would export my Blender model to .md3 and then convert it to .mdl using Noesis, or even use directly the .md3 if your engine of choice is FTE or other supporting the format.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
User avatar
frag.machine
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: blender question

Postby Spike » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:39 pm

you might want to use iqm instead, if you were targetting fte (or dp). the iqm sdk is apparently updated for blender 2.8 too.
either that or the .glb (or .gltf2) format (with fte's 'models' plugin providing a loader for that format, along with an exporter bundled with blender 2.8 iiuc).
Spike
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK

Re: blender question

Postby ceriux » Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:29 pm

well the reason i keep to mdl is so that my models stay usable by any engine. however exporting to md3 then converting might be the best bet.
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: blender question

Postby madf0x » Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:20 pm

User avatar
madf0x
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:09 am


Return to Modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest