Page 2 of 2

Re: Improving "ProQuake" Demo Record At Any Time

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:22 pm
by qbism
That is much more elegant...
Record could take an additional argument, milliseconds, which is how far back in time to "rewind" the buffer. (Or a new record command with this behaviour.) "-1" or something could mean back to the max size of the buffer, which could be from the beginning if memory is large enough as Spike mentioned.

Re: Improving "ProQuake" Demo Record At Any Time

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:12 pm
by r00k
mh wrote: I'd suggest the following instead:

Code: Select all

		CL_UpdateDemoStat (STAT_TOTALSECRETS);
		CL_UpdateDemoStat (STAT_TOTALMONSTERS);
		CL_UpdateDemoStat (STAT_SECRETS);
		CL_UpdateDemoStat (STAT_MONSTERS);
And:

Code: Select all

void CL_UpdateDemoStat (int stat)
{
	if (stat < 0 || stat >= MAX_CL_STATS) return;

	MSG_WriteByte (&net_message, svc_updatestat);
	MSG_WriteByte (&net_message, stat);
	MSG_WriteLong (&net_message, cl.stats[stat]);
}
Adding this call to Host_Spawn will drop to console in local games :(
just using cl.stats[ in cl_demo instead of the pr_global_struct-> seems to work fine though.

Re: Improving "ProQuake" Demo Record At Any Time

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:30 pm
by mh
I don't mean add it to Host_Spawn, I mean use it in CL_Record_f instead of the code that Baker originally posted. Host_Spawn is fine as it is.