GLQuake - Frustum Plane Extraction

Post tutorials on how to do certain tasks within game or engine code here.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

thanks :) and aye using aspect is definatly not the way holy screwed up viewport batman :lol:
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

Image

the missing torch problem
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

above problem seems to be based on angles and is also affecting water (changes visibility to allmost opaque) weird thing it also seems to be distance based as not all places show these bugs. but mostly small areas.

i can force the missing torches to show if i face away from them and then turn my head back.
Spike
Posts: 2914
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Spike »

quake's frustum culling expects 4/3 resolutions. with widescreen it'll cull away at the sides.
mh
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Post by mh »

It's also culling at the front though. It looks an awful lot like bad alias model bounding boxes to me, to be honest.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

doh facepalm i rearanged my culling function but forgot the function to get the entity mins/maxs :oops: it works now.

things went a bit messy as i was trying to get the bumpmapping on alias models to (basic function is there now i just need to create a better way of setting the arrays).

looks really good to :)

im stuck on a few buggers i need to iron out before i release the new version of realm. one being that it crashes when using the grapling hook in rogue (seems to trigger a noop) .

i fixed for good this time the heathaze effect so that it wont draw when below lava

messy hack incomming below.

Code: Select all

                    // mark lava surf inactive initially
                    // old check does not work as the state
                    // does not change once its enabled yah booh ...
                    if (r_viewleaf->contents == CONTENTS_LAVA)
                    {
                        // dont mark the surf when in lava
                        (*mark)->lavavishack = false;
                    }
                    else
                    {
                        // if we have a lava surf draw haze
                        if ((*mark)->flags & SURF_DRAWLAVA)
                        {
                            // mark lava surf active
                            (*mark)->lavavishack = true;
                        }
                    }
i changed the other boolean operator to a pickup instead. the benefit is that in certain rooms where you have a lava surf above a room the haze doesnt clip through the floor (looked a bit unrealistic when it did) the downside is that haze wont draw when in the lava but cant have all :)
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

hum hum well torches work but water is still acting up argh.

it doesnt seem related to the culling as i made sure to get the model leafs before any culling happens yet in some maps watersurfaces go allmost opaque.

another weirdy is if im actually in the water surf at a certain depth it does the same :shock:

might actually be a bad bbox as mh pointed out question would then be how can i go about fixing it ?
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

bah running out of gas but i managed to fix water going opaque

funny thing it had nothing at all to do with bboxes realm uses a leaf lookup function mh devised some time back and it has a few quirks.

i mangled a lot of unessesary code away and as i discovered i rooted out both the good and evil parts.

would be a lil lenghty explaining and as it has nothing to do with the
function mh posted ill leave it at that.

still a few quirks i need to get burried (below water in big watermaps the fog projection has a tendancy of shifting the projection from on the surf to on the model)

besides that and the rogue bug with grapling hook its actually very playable now, and it looks great.

if someone wants a look ill put it up on my ftp.

ill include the source also but its mingw/codeblocks only now (codeblocks workspace included).

feedback is allways welcome.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

if its the one from rich's i got that one also ;)

and aye to many lights and no clipping means i have to revise it a bit before inclusion.
frag.machine
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Post by frag.machine »

Please don't feed the spambot
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
r00k
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:39 pm

Post by r00k »

reckless wrote:if its the one from rich's i got that one also ;)

and aye to many lights and no clipping means i have to revise it a bit before inclusion.
I've tried a few times to add simple simple standard volumetric
shadows for just alias models from a static light source. Heck all I
REALLY want is a planar shadow that folds around the surface of
stairs or doesn't float out above mound on DM3. I'm not sure now
what I had done wrong, wrong dept testing, not clearing the stencil
buffer etc. Maybe it had just conflicted with polygon offset :| For fun I
even used a decal blob updated every other frame that faded away 2
frames later :P I guess a shadow map would be best though.
revelator
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Post by revelator »

problem with planar shadows are that they are indeed just a projection of the entity just colored black and flat :P

i suspect making code for standard planar shadows to follow curves on each brushmodel will be an even more hellish task than trying to port some of the code from either tenebrae or darkplaces or actually finishing up richs code :) there might be other options though and im still looking at some.
Post Reply