Forum

Page 1 of 1

learning to add a weapon.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:51 am
by ceriux
hey i been having an issue with compiling again... iv been trying all night its now 3:49 am... i just cant figure out what iv done wrong.

this is the tutorial iv been fallowing : http://inside3d.com/showtutorial.php?id=60

the only part i didnt fallow was the part of adding it to the cheat command i dont want that. i just added a line in the fgd to add it to a map .

this is the error im getting.

Image

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 10:54 am
by Spike
Error: Syntax error before 'else'.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:05 pm
by Wazat
Probably you have an else that's been separated from its if statement by some code you added; or perhaps you deleted or rewrote an if statement and left the else dangling. Mind posting that section of items.qc (say, lines 400-500) so we can take a look?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:08 pm
by ceriux
i dont think so it all looks right.... iv looked over the original code and it all seems to be set up exactly the same way.

Code: Select all
/*
=============
weapon_touch  - lines 385- 505
=============
*/
float() W_BestWeapon;

void() weapon_touch =
{
   local   float   hadammo, best, new, old;
   local   entity   stemp;
   local   float   leave;

   if (!(other.flags & FL_CLIENT))
      return;

// if the player was using his best weapon, change up to the new one if better      
   stemp = self;
   self = other;
   best = W_BestWeapon();
   self = stemp;

   if (deathmatch == 2 || coop)
      leave = 1;
   else
      leave = 0;
   
   if (self.classname == "weapon_nailgun")
   {
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_NAILGUN) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_nails;         
      new = IT_NAILGUN;
      other.ammo_nails = other.ammo_nails + 30;
   }
   else if (self.classname == "weapon_supernailgun")
   {
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_SUPER_NAILGUN) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_SUPER_NAILGUN;
      other.ammo_nails = other.ammo_nails + 30;
   }
   else if (self.classname == "weapon_supershotgun")
   {
      if (other.ammo_shells = 20 && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))
      {
      new = IT_Sniper;
      other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 20;
      }
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN;
      other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 5;
   }
      else if (self.classname == "weapon_rocketlauncher")
   {
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_ROCKET_LAUNCHER) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_ROCKET_LAUNCHER;
      other.ammo_rockets = other.ammo_rockets + 5;
   }
   else if (self.classname == "weapon_grenadelauncher")
   {
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_GRENADE_LAUNCHER) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_GRENADE_LAUNCHER;
      other.ammo_rockets = other.ammo_rockets + 5;
   }
   else if (self.classname == "weapon_lightning")
   {
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_LIGHTNING) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_LIGHTNING;
      other.ammo_cells = other.ammo_cells + 15;
   }
   else
      objerror ("weapon_touch: unknown classname");

   sprint (other, "You got the ");
   sprint (other, self.netname);
   sprint (other, "\n");
// weapon touch sound
   sound (other, CHAN_ITEM, "weapons/pkup.wav", 1, ATTN_NORM);
   stuffcmd (other, "bf\n");

   bound_other_ammo ();

// change to the weapon
   old = other.items;
   other.items = other.items | new;
   
   stemp = self;
   self = other;

   if (!deathmatch)
      self.weapon = new;
   else
      Deathmatch_Weapon (old, new);

   W_SetCurrentAmmo();

   self = stemp;

   if (leave)
      return;

// remove it in single player, or setup for respawning in deathmatch
   self.model = string_null;
   self.solid = SOLID_NOT;
   if (deathmatch == 1)
      self.nextthink = time + 30;
   self.think = SUB_regen;
   
   activator = other;
   SUB_UseTargets();            // fire all targets / killtargets
};



PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:55 am
by Spike
Looks fine as far as I can see. :/

The assignment in conditional comes from this line:
if (other.ammo_shells = 20 && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))
tbh the logic here is a little broken... but it shouldn't generate any actual compiler errors, it just won't run right.

19 lines later is this line:
else if (self.classname == "weapon_grenadelauncher")

I really don't see how that else could be misplaced.
The only thing I can think of is that its somehow complaining about something hidden in whitespace.. but that doesn't really make much sense, as it would be moaning about a missing operator rather than a variable.

Bizzare.

fix it!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:58 am
by ceriux
lol im trying to :( -.-

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:22 pm
by Wazat
Yes, you'll want to fix the "if (other.ammo_shells = 20" to use a == instead of a = (a single = will set shells to 20 every time that if statement runs, which you probably don't want). Other than that, I'm not finding anything.

The line it's giving the error on is this one, right?
else if (self.classname == "weapon_grenadelauncher")

You can also try using fteqcc to see if it says something different about the error, or tags a different line.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:23 am
by ceriux
ok, changing that fix it :D but now when i changed the fgd to add this weapon and i put it in my map and recompiled....

it doesnt show up ingame...
here's my fgd qc...


Code: Select all
@baseclass size(-16 -16 0, 16 16 32) color(0 0 200) base(Item, Appearflags) = Weapon []

@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_supershotgun : "Super shotgun" []
@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_nailgun : "Nailgun" []
@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_supernailgun : "Perforator" []
@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_grenadelauncher : "Grenade launcher" []
@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_rocketlauncher : "Rocket launcher" []
@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_lightning : "Thunderbolt" []
@PointClass base(Weapon) = weapon_sniper : "sniper" []

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:27 am
by ceriux
Does anyone know why the sniper rifle wont show up in my map? does it have to do with how i added the sniper as a new weapon in the game? because im thinking the way that the tutorial show'd me how to add the new weapon makes it use the same everything that the shotgun does instead of actually creating a new weapon. i may be wrong, but im still learning -.-

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:12 am
by r00k
pardon me but it is 4am, and im barely awake

Code: Select all
lse if (self.classname == "weapon_supershotgun")
   {
      if(other.shells = 100 && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))
      {
      new = IT_SNIPER;
      other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 20;
      }
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN;
      other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 5;
   }


shouldn't this be like this?

Code: Select all
        else if (self.classname == "weapon_supershotgun")
        {
                if (other.shells == 100 && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))//R00k added the '== 100' was '= 100'
                {
                        new = IT_SNIPER;
                        other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 20;
                }
                else
                {
                        if (leave && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))
                                return;
                        hadammo = other.ammo_rockets; //what the f*ck is this here for??
                        new = IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN;
                        other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 5;
                }
        }

Which basically means if you touch the DoubleShotgun , and you already had one, AND you have 100 shells, THEN, you magically have a SNIPER RIFLE now. This tut doesnt actually add a sniper rifle model to the map, it just changes the behavior of the DSG, under these circumstances.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 8:25 pm
by ceriux
well... i decided to use the same code, but use the grenade launchers model... only difference. i mean id like to add a new weapon to an already existing slot just hit like 2 twice and you get the new weapon after you've picked it up.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:32 am
by ceriux
still having issues with this....


i get issues here

Code: Select all
{
      if (other.shells = 10= && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))
      
      {
      new = IT_SNIPER;
      other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 20;
      }
      if (leave && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN) )
         return;
      hadammo = other.ammo_rockets;         
      new = IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN;
      other.ammo_shells = other.ammo_shells + 5;
   }


specifically here....


Code: Select all
if (other.shells = 10= && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:13 pm
by Dr. Shadowborg
ceriux wrote:
Code: Select all
if (other.shells = 10= && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))


The problem is that it should be this:

Code: Select all
if (other.shells == 10 && (other.items & IT_SUPER_SHOTGUN))


also, you may want to look at the stuff in here:
http://qexpo.tastyspleen.net/booth.php?id=131

There's an issue or two that I hadn't thought of with tutorial 3, but aside from that it's mostly good stuff.

Also, just in case error wants to stab me for saying that I was going to put these up on I3D's tutorial section, I can only say that I'm currently horribly busy right now with real life / work issues / quake burnout. :cry: