Issue with multi-texture and freetype?

Discuss programming topics that involve the OpenGL API.
Feared

Issue with multi-texture and freetype?

Post by Feared »

I believe I am having an issue with freetype and multi-texturing. If you look at the bottom left above the sbar in the image I provide you will see some garbage. It's correctly loading the font but the textures seem to smash together.
Can anyone explain this? I'm new to OpenGL and I'm trying to add a proper font renderer to Quake. :) Thank you very much.

Spike

Post by Spike »

many engines have a -nomtex, if you think its multitexture, try that.
Normally, multitexture is only active for as long as its used. Traditionally the function that switched it on is the one that is meant to switch it off.

And yes, those look like hud images. Are you sure you switched textures correctly? If you're using Draw_Pic, you will need to make sure you generate the correct glpics.

If you want an average font to be readable, it needs to be at least 12 pixels high (instead of 8), you need to support variable-width chars correctly, and you need to align your font and texture coords to the screen pixels correctly. Failure with any of those will result in ugly unreadable bluryness, depending on the font. Don't just convert font to conchar-grid on load, unless you like laughing.

For further reading, FTE contains support for freetype2 already, note that it uses vertex arrays and its rendering backend.
Downsider

Post by Downsider »

GL_CLAMP vs GL_REPEAT? Try setting one of those after using freetype. Might be the issue.
mh

Post by mh »

I doubt if there's a specific problem with freetype and multitexturing. All freetype does is create a font bitmap that you then convert to a texture using normal OpenGL calls, so for my money what's happening is that you have the extra texture unit(s) still active and/or enabled.

For debugging purposes, stick this block of code before you do any text drawing:

Code: Select all