Forum

RTX Quake II

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

RTX Quake II

Postby toneddu2000 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:28 am

Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: RTX Quake II

Postby revelator » Fri Mar 29, 2019 6:25 am

:shock: woah...
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: RTX Quake II

Postby revelator » Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:20 am

Have to say that id like to see a quake with some of this in it :)
Or any other old game we have the source code for, for that matter.
Allthough it looked a bit strange in places with so many details on some effects, compared to the relatively low res game environment.
If they had also spiffed up that part it would have been mindblowing to look at :)
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: RTX Quake II

Postby toneddu2000 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:40 am

I guess the first level it shows (I don't know if it's a custom level or one of the builtin ones) the light is great even beacuse the level style is quite minimalistic. In the entry level, instead, it gives me the idea of a "patchwork" lighting, where, as you said, low res environment is mixed with superb lighting effects. But, aniway..great work by Nvidia! :biggrin:

I'd like to see how Quake 1 would look like with that light.. :wink:
My idea would be to take FTE, completely undress it of all the quake stuff (mdl, server, palette, bsp, menu,) and leave a client-only barebone system that accepts only opengl 3.3+(or in this case DirectX 12) as renderer and make some tests, but it's far far away from my skills
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: RTX Quake II

Postby revelator » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:52 pm

Hmm if its using directx maybe mh's d3dquake ought to be a good candidate :)
Productivity is a state of mind.
User avatar
revelator
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:04 pm
Location: inside tha debugger

Re: RTX Quake II

Postby toneddu2000 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:29 pm

yeah, RTX uses DirectX 12
Meadow Fun!! - my first commercial game, made with FTEQW game engine
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest