Forum

Looking for help with external model textures

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Looking for help with external model textures

Postby hondobondo » Sun May 29, 2016 1:28 am

Darkplaces does this:
modelname.mdl_0.tga
put textures in \progs

Enhanced GlQuake
modelname_0.tga
textures go in textures\models

Neither of these conventions work for either of these engines:
FTEQuake
DirectQ

Does anyone know how to make these work?
hondobondo
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:48 am

Re: Looking for help with external model textures

Postby mh » Sun May 29, 2016 12:36 pm

Darkplaces convention should work for DirectQ but it's been so long that I can't recall specifics (I no longer even have the source code to check).

What I can recall is that I definitely used the Darkplaces naming convention, because the other naming convention breaks on s_light (ID1 has both s_light.mdl and s_light.spr) so it's going to be the folder that you put the TGA in that's different. I'd suggest try it in \textures, \textures\progs or similar.
We had the power, we had the space, we had a sense of time and place
We knew the words, we knew the score, we knew what we were fighting for
User avatar
mh
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:38 am

Re: Looking for help with external model textures

Postby hondobondo » Sun May 29, 2016 7:15 pm

that would be textures\progs, and it looks AMAZING
thanks
hondobondo
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:48 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Spike and 2 guests