Forum

Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Discuss anything not covered by any of the other categories.

Moderator: InsideQC Admins

Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby ceriux » Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:40 am

User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby toneddu2000 » Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:20 pm

Yeah, I saw it and use it. Kinda cool, kinda useless,too. I mean bsp format it's antique now, but it's always nice to see people working hard to put some Quake in every aspect of life! :)
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby ceriux » Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:44 am

id think if refined it'd be possible to port quake to unity.
User avatar
ceriux
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:30 pm
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby toneddu2000 » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:52 am

Keep in mind that "port Quake to Unity" doesn't make much sense as phrase. Quake it's a game and Unity it's a game engine. You instead could do:
  1. Open every asset with a modern software (models with Maya/Max/blah, textures with photoshop, gimp, blah) and recreate every aspect to look modern (characters with skeletal animations, ragdoll, etc, textures at hires with normal,spec,etc, but for this I guess there are lots of reboot attempts)
  2. Recreate every map with modular pieces in Unity 5 / Unreal 4 editor, adding, where possible, dynamic lights, view filters (Unity has lots of filters and they're very good) to increase realism
  3. Use C# to recreate game code in a more object oriented / polished way (id game code sucks for various aspects)
  4. **Probably**, only thing that could be used untouched are sounds, but, really I'm not so sure they could be used today like modern sounds!

After all this cyclopic, enourmous and tedious work you could say to have port Quake to Unity! :biggrin: But, really, I couldn't see a single reason to explain why doing such a huge work like this! :biggrin:
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby r00k » Sat Oct 24, 2015 6:18 am

you can port quake to anything IF you can code the engine
r00k
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:39 pm

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby frag.machine » Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:56 pm

What tonnedu2000 described is not porting but recreating Quake with new assets. Porting usually requires reusing (mostly) unmodified assets from the original game and also recreating all or most of its behaviours in the target engine (bunnyhopping, collision boxes, etc) to ensure the same gameplay.
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
User avatar
frag.machine
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby toneddu2000 » Sat Oct 24, 2015 2:05 pm

Keep in mind that "port Quake to Unity" doesn't make much sense as phrase. Quake it's a game and Unity it's a game engine. You instead could do:

Ah...if people read carefully...
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby frag.machine » Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:37 am

tonnedu2000 wrote:Ah...if people read carefully...


Yup, I totally agree.

tonnedu2000 wrote:After all this cyclopic, enourmous and tedious work you could say to have port Quake to Unity!


But let's not derail the thread debacling about semantics... ;)
I know FrikaC made a cgi-bin version of the quakec interpreter once and wrote part of his website in QuakeC :) (LordHavoc)
User avatar
frag.machine
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:49 pm

Re: Uquake1 anyone see this (quake in unity?)

Postby toneddu2000 » Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:43 pm

yeah, that was just irony but, my bad not to make it clear! :lol:
Anyway, now I'm curious: there's a true port of the Whole Quake game to another engine? Or to strange architecture? I heard of a DP port in progress on Raspberry PI but it's long time since I've seen update videos about it.
At least, something like Shambler's castle (not a port,ok, but you know what I mean) on Unreal Engine 4 I think that should be coooool!:)
toneddu2000
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Italy


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest